Canada's Droid3 to have 4G

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Malvado, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    [​IMG]

    Like many locations outside the US, Canada will be getting its very own version of the handset known stateside as the DROID 3 under the rather inconspicuous title Motorola XT860 4G. Why Motorola has decided to ditch the Milestone tag for the Canadian release is a mystery, but the details of the phone are not. The handset retains its 4.0-inch qHD display, 1GHz dual-core CPU, and slide-out five-row QWERTY keyboard. The XT860 4G is rounded out with an 8MP camera and 16GB of internal storage.The phone will ship with Android 2.3 when it lands on Bell later this summer. Pricing details were not made available at this time.


    SOURCE: http://www.cnw.ca/en/releases/archive/July2011/14/c5341.html
     
  2. chasehammer
    Offline

    chasehammer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    if it does that a big F U lol
     
  3. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    yes it will =/
     
  4. chasehammer
    Offline

    chasehammer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    and since i cant edit i would add this. the price of this phone on ebay will go crazy high for people here in the states.
     
  5. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    lol i wouldnt doubt it
     
  6. alquimista
    Offline

    alquimista Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blame Canada

    [​IMG]

    Sorry, I couldn't get the Blame Canada song out of my head after reading this.
     
  7. pwrdbykyank
    Offline

    pwrdbykyank Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    So let me get this straight.. if the canada D3 gets 4G, and you buy a canadian D3, would you be able to use it on verizons 4G LTE?
     
  8. chasehammer
    Offline

    chasehammer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    essentially yes, IF Bell Mobility uses the same frequency signal as Verizon does in the states.
     
  9. pwrdbykyank
    Offline

    pwrdbykyank Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    i hope so, ive been waiting for a physical keyboard phone since D1 i loved it, but now its 3g for D3 so im avoiding it lol. I have a feeling verizon will pull that whole xoom 3g to 4g crap on the D3 just like how they did the droid 2 to droid global here. Cuz one thing ive noticed on every droid (physical slide out keyboard model) is that the main board on the regular one verizon releases has an empty slot where a chip isnt soldered on, then when they release the global edition that slot would be filled in, so im sure if i take apart the D3 ill see it has a 4G slot empty then will release a 4G version (crossing fingers)
     
  10. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    but i highly doubt VERIZON will let u activate it on their network...trust me i tried it before
     
  11. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Bell uses hspa+ I believe. That's gsm. They do have a cdma network as well, but their 4G is absolutely not compatible with verizon lte.
     
  12. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    actually the droid 3 is already global so they wont be releasing another version of it
     
  13. xsylus
    Offline

    xsylus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ, USA, Earth
    Ratings:
    +32
    Just one more reason to move to Vancouver :rofl3:
     
  14. chris420o
    Offline

    chris420o Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    there is a huge dif between what some companies refer to as 4g and lte...so this wouldnt work on verizon 4g lte
     
  15. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
    I don't think the first page got this memo :)
     
Search tags for this page

canadian droid 3 has 4g?