Can we root yet?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by stani, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. stani

    stani New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So can we root our D2G phone's again yet?
     
  2. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you are on 4.5.629 (latest OTA update) and don't have rootkeeper, no.
     
  3. stani

    stani New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I downloaded it, but it not obtaining su, so I guess the answer is no.
     
  4. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If anyone is feeling brave, a claim to have a rooting solution, using a modified SBF to .608, then rootkeeper........


    [h=1]http://rootzwiki.com/topic/23207-stuck-at-rootless-629check-this/[/h]
     
  5. Gasai Yuno

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    (From a user with quite a small number of posts, I must point out.)
     
  6. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, one reason I didn't try it yet! However, if he/she was really able to sign a new version of an SBF (in RSD Lite it gives HAB as Signed Production, of course could be a copy of another SBF) then it might be someone who needs to hide their identity.
     
  7. rocketlog

    rocketlog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still not too keen to risk my functional unrooted D2G on that one. Not that desperate to get it rooted but I really would be glad if it can already be done... safely. :biggrin:
     
  8. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +237
    If you use Root Keeper, then update, it works fine. I just did it about an hour ago.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    What works? Rootkeeper then updating? Yes, that is fine. Here we are talking about people already on 4.5.629 (Droid 2 global update last month) and whether this method of going back works.
     
  10. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,733
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +237
    SBF'ing will result in a brick.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    See post #4 above.
     
  12. Jooder492

    Jooder492 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have rootkeeper on. 608 but when I try to update it fails every time for some reason :/

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

4.5.629 root

,
d2g 4.5.629 root
,
droid 2 4.5.629 root
,
droid 2 global 4.5.629 root
,
droid 2 global root 4.5.629
,
root d2g 4.5.629
,
root droid 2 4.5.629
,

root droid 2 global 4.5.629

,
rooting droid 2 global 4.5.629
,
root motorola droid 2 global 4.5.629