Can we root without a PC yet?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by Bixby, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. Bixby

    Bixby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't think so? But if not, how long do u think it'll be until a 1 touch app is developed?

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  2. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    A different exploit would need to be found first...this one works off ADB shell access.

    I wouldn't expect one anytime soon.
     
  3. djrajir

    djrajir New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Based on the type of exploit you need access to a computer, however it can be a windows pc, a mac, or a linux box.
     
  4. Dmw017

    Dmw017 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Take your droid and a usb to your college/high school tech lab, computer cafe, public library, or any of the other numerous places where computers are open to public access.
    Use a proxy if any websites you need are blocked and bring any files you would need to install on your sd card
     
  5. wildride89

    wildride89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bixby, it was super easy to root the d3. You just download some drivers and petes root tools. Use the prompt and after 3 reboots you're rooted. Easy as pie I promise

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  6. Mugen

    Mugen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uses thia same method. Quick easy and painless

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. rweb

    rweb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    See it from the good site:
    Since physical control is needed for this exploit, our D3 is still save from malware etc.
     
  8. Mandy don

    Mandy don New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s3
    Please somebody help me root my samsung s3 without a PC, is it possible? Or tell me how to on PC, or who can do it for me please.
     
  9. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,551
    Likes Received:
    893
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +983
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    Hi Mandy, I know you told me you tried Towel Root in messages. It tells you that it's not compatible with your device? Which Galaxy S3 variant is your phone? What carrier? What android version is your phone on? Do you have the latest towelroot?
     
  10. Mandy don

    Mandy don New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s3
    Hi, I am not sure if I have the latest towelroot. Where can I find the latest if you know plea tell me.
     
  11. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,192
    Likes Received:
    1,547
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +1,717
    Current Phone Model:
    Elephone P7000
    I think 4.4.2 is the latest.
     
  12. cr6

    cr6 DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    2,295
    Trophy Points:
    1,518
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S5
    Towelroot.com will have the latest version.
    The official XDA thread doesn't say the S3 is supported though. There are however a few YouTube videos showing how to root the S3 using it, so you might look into one of those.

    S5 tap'n
     
  13. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,551
    Likes Received:
    893
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +983
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    Hmm, after doing some research, it seems that towelroot doesn't work on S3 running 4.3...
     
Search tags for this page
how to root a htc evo 4g without a computer
,
how to root evo 4g without computer
,
how to root htc evo 4g without computer
,

how to root my htc evo 4g without a computer

,
root evo 4g no computer
,
root evo 4g without computer
,
root evo 4g without pc
,

root htc evo 4g no computer

,
root htc evo 4g without computer
,
root my htc evo 4g without computer