Can this speed issue be solved?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Narcoleptic, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. Narcoleptic
    Offline

    Narcoleptic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have no idea if this is verizon, android or droid issue.

    I'm having issues with 3g speeds on my Droid 1 (updated to 2.2, unrooted). I am unable to watch videos and pages take a long time to load.
    My 3g signal bars look fine - although change frequently.
    My boyfriend's Droid has speeds much higher than mine but he still has some issues occasionally.

    I used speed test over the last few days and here are the last results (from yesterday and today)


    kbps

    46/20
    1/87
    304/81
    37/1688
    30/206
    409/199
    429/441
    173/551


    I tried the resetting the phone, the 228 thing, clearing the browser cache, using Dolphin instead of stock, etc. No real change.

    I've noticed the speed has taken a significant nosedive in the last 2 weeks, specifically. The browser is becoming pretty useless at this point.

    I guess my question is, has anyone had any speed issues and were you able to fix the issue without having to return your phone?


    Thanks
  2. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +1
    :welcome:to the forums.

    Is your phone rooted?? If so, I would check your rom or kernel as being a possible problem.

    If you are not rooted, I know that Verizon has been working on their towers and I have seen that signal strength has been an issue all over the place. You could try to call Verizon and ask them about the signal issue.

    Also check that you do not have a task killer loaded. Those cause more troubles than they are worth.
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Try resetting your PRL -- dial *228 and hit 2, let it reprogram, and see what happens.
  4. forkup
    Offline

    forkup Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sound like a signal issue to me...flaky towers. As said above make sure you have the latest prl and be patient cuz they're prolly working on something in your area it happened to me soon after I got my d1 on day 1 then fixed itself.
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    By the way, my suggestion was in case you hadn't done it since the hardware reset. Sometimes the programming doesn't take from a reset too well. Too much stuff going on.

    As everyone said, signal issues seem to be the culprit.
  6. dalkhoutoff
    Offline

    dalkhoutoff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    In the desert with no bars.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah thats it. I have had the same problem. I thought it was one of the rom's fault so i flashed a whole bunch of em to no avail. I just waited it out and i am getting .50 mbps w/ 1 bar. I get 1.29mbps with full bars. Its probably where you live. I live out in the desert, but if i walk to my mailbox (a mile away) it gets waaaaay better signal.