Can the Samsung Epic 4G be unlocked?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by schwibsi, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. schwibsi
    Offline

    schwibsi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I've been using a HTC TP2 for a year now and I have to say that I'm quite dissatisfied with how slow and unreliable it has been.
    I need a full keyboard as I write loads of emails on the phone.
    So the Epic 4G caught my fancy.

    The thing is, they don't sell it in Germany, or anywhere in Europe for that matter. I can have friends of mine in the US buy the phone for me and bring it over to me.
    The big question is, will it work with my German vodafone simcard or can we make it work?
    It also comes with Android 2.1. Can it be updated to 2.2, or is that not possible?

    Thank you all,

    Andi
  2. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    The Epic 4G is being released on Sprint's network which is CDMA.
    I believe Germany/Vodaphone is GSM so it would be impossible for the Epic 4G to be made functional.

    You will need to look at phones provided for GSM networks (AT&T, T-Mobile, etc..)
  3. agenthex
    Offline

    agenthex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I joined this forum to ask this question. Related to the OP, who lives in Europe, where 3G services are generally carried on GSM. I am a Verizon customer, and their network is CDMA/EV-DO.

    I'm looking at the Samsung Epic 4G, but I don't want to switch carriers. There is a WiMax provider in my city, and I want to know if it's possible to connect the Epic to Verizon's CDMA network. Can I add WiMax connectivity later? Can I have only WiMax connectivity (without 3G service)? Does Verizon blacklist ESN's? Does it only allow certain ones? Can someone get me the ESN of a Epic 4G to ask Verizon and find out if it can be activated with an existing service?
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2010
  4. Silverwing
    Offline

    Silverwing New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is actually quite and interesting question: Can you use the EPIC 4G on verizon?
  5. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Even though both are cdma, don't sprint and verizon use different bands?

    Sent from my Droid
  6. agenthex
    Offline

    agenthex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not to my knowledge. I looked up the band for the Epic and the band for the Droid and other CDMA phones. It seems they both use 800/1900MHz.

    Someone with valid ESN/MEID would be thanked graciously.
  7. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Kk. Thanks for filling me in.

    Sent from my Droid
  8. Silverwing
    Offline

    Silverwing New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I should try and find someone who would want to trade their EPIC4G for my Fascinate?
  9. velocity92c
    Offline

    velocity92c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know why anyone would possibly trade an epic 4g for a fascinate. Epic is the far superior phone in every aspect. Costs more too I believe.
  10. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    The ONLY way the Epic 4G would work on Verizon is IF the MEID number of the device is in the Verizon system. If the MEID number isn't in Verizon's system, which it won't be, it will never, ever, work.

    So the short answer is no, it won't work. ;)
Search tags for this page
how to unlock a samsung epic 4g
,
how to unlock a samsung epic sprint
,

how to unlock samsung epic

,

how to unlock samsung epic 4g

,
how to unlock sprint samsung epic 4g
,

samsung epic 4g unlock

,

samsung epic 4g unlocked

,

samsung epic unlocked

,

unlock samsung epic

,
unlock samsung epic 4g
,
unlock samsung epic 4g sprint
,
unlock sprint epic 4g