Can the Droid act as a WIFI device for a laptop?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by namakan, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. namakan

    namakan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I signed up for the Droid a few months ago I thought the salesperson told me it can act as a WiFi device for say a laptop.

    Is this true and if so how do I make the connection work when I'm in an area that does not have WiFi for my computer but I can get a full signal on the Droid?
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Rooted with 2.1 or Running 2.2 and wireless tether from the market and your in business.
     
  3. namakan

    namakan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe I have the 2.1 version. I'm not the most technologically advanced individual so could you point me in the direction to find the wireless tether and what exaclty is invloved in setting this up?

    Thanks!!!!
     
  4. Pathos

    Pathos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are also 2 programs that do it without having to root your phone.

    EasyTether and PDANet

    Of course, Verizon sells a service for about $20/month (I think), so they are not going to like you using any of the other ways.
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Both work Well and are easy to use.
     
  6. namakan

    namakan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks and I appreciate the info. I believe the laptop has Windows Office 3 on it. Will both of these apps support this?

    Also, I assume no physical connection between the phone and laptop is necessary?

    Thanks again!
     
  7. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Back the truck up. He said he's a non-techy. How about a bit of explanation on how he gets wifi working?

    As mentioned earleir...you have to root your phone. Rooting means you have to gain access to the parts of your phone that Verizon would rather you not have access to. But they can't stop you because you own that device. Android is all about open source and users being able to do what they want with their device and Verizon is well aware of this. So what they say is they don't support rooted phones. Once you root you really do own that phone. You get to figure out how to fix what goes wrong. the good news is many many many non-techy people have succesfully rooted their phones with the help of members of this forum.

    Once you gain Root Access you can then install a custom kernel on the phone that opens up the wifi capabilities. Then you install Wireless Tether for Root Users from the market place. Before you root and install the custom kernel, Wireless App will do absolutely nothing for your phone.

    If you want to learn about rooting, go to the Hacks forum and read the sticky threads. Going from 2.1 to root is an advanced process...but the guides are well written. Going from 2.1 to 2.0.1 (yes...backwards) and then root is a very simple process, but seems like a lot of unneccesary steps.

    Let us know what specific help you need if you decide to go that route. Posting those questions in the Hacks forum will get better results though.

    I use my Droid as a WiFi hotspot when I travel and it works beautifully.

    Something else to consider is we all think that when 2.2 (Froyo) is released for the Droid it will include WiFi out of the box. No rooting neccesary. So if you can wait, that may be the best way to do it in the long run. But if you need it now, root the phone. You can always return to stock when 2.2 officially rolls out.

    Nate
     
  8. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    The two apps he mentioned require a USB connection. If you want to do ti wirelessly, you have to root for now or you have to wait for 2.2 official release.

    Nate
     
  9. Diordna

    Diordna Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Cape Coral - FLORIDA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can help you root if ya want too, it's easy :)
     
  10. namakan

    namakan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The two apps he mentioned require a USB connection. If you want to do ti wirelessly, you have to root for now or you have to wait for 2.2 official release.

    Nate[/QUOTE]


    Nate

    I only need to do this a few times a year so having a cord is no big deal if I don't have to go through with this rooting thing.

    Just to clarify now. All I need is one of the apps mentioned and a USB cable from the computer to the phones charging port and I'm in business?

    Thanks again and I apologize for being so ignorant with his stuff.
     
  11. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
  12. namakan

    namakan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I've been looking at PdaNet but the pre purchase installation instructions are slim to none. Do you have to download both of these to phone and computer seperately?

    If so, is it best to do it on the phone first and then access your account through the computer and do that one as well?

    Always seems like the directions on these things are limited.

    Thanks!
     
Search tags for this page
android act as a router
,
android act as router
,
app for android to act as a router
,
can my android act as a hotspot?
,
does a stood act as hotspur
,
droid 4 act as a modem
,
droid to laptop for wifi
,
how do i make my droid 4 act as modem?
,

how to get wifi from android to laptop

,
make the pc act as an android