Can the Droid 1 access 802.11 N? (with hacks)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by xmguy, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am getting poor overall speeds on my Droid 1. I read it has N chipset. Is there a way to get it enabled?
     
  2. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I don't know, but I don't see how it would improve anything.

    Wireless G is already several times faster than 99% of people's ISP speeds.
     
  3. tommyboy845

    tommyboy845 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    ny
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a wireless n router and it connects no problem...
    running stock, bugless and sapphire no problem...
     
  4. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Not on my router. I have a Linksys. WRT150N. Before that a WRT54GL. My laptop is the same. Til I got an N router and N card my speeds were only half of what they should be. On N they are ok.
     
  5. stanrc

    stanrc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm pretty sure the droid only has b/g, not n. If its connecting to an N router, then your router is running mixed mode, which means even your n clients aren't using full n speed.
     
  6. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    It's a funny thing for sure. Seeing the G should be enough for my ISP's speed of 8Mb down. but I only get to 3Mbs on my Droid 1 and used to only get that when my Dell laptop only had a G internal card. Upgrading to a N card fixed that.
     
  7. stanrc

    stanrc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well wireless is a half duplex medium, so your actual speed is only 4mb, then you have to take into account interferences and other RF anomalies that degrade the signal, so 3mb sounds about right.
     
  8. ronhawker

    ronhawker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well you guys talked all around the issue but did not really address what was being asked.

    1. Does the D1 have N capability?
    2. Can it be enabled?

    You guys must all work for tech support; it's called begging the question...look it up. It's what tech support does all the time. Answer what you can answer regardless of the question...if you even read the whole question to begin with.
     
  9. gotta have that funk

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. ronhawker

    ronhawker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent...just proved my point. I didn't ask the question.
     
  11. gotta have that funk

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i wasnt posting that towards you..just happened to be after you..
     
  12. ronhawker

    ronhawker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Roger that...sorry.
     
Search tags for this page

droid x connects at 802.11n speeds