Can someone please help me root my new RAZR?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by steveninspokane, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got it today, activated it, updated it to Ice Cream from the OTA.

    Been trying to root for 5 hours now.

    I have read read read, apparently, all these programs have no instructions as to how to root using their program. I have tried Easyroot from XDA and Droid Razr Utility 1.7. They both seem to get unhook on waiting for my phone to reboot, which it never does. The app says ADB must be running, is it? I have no idea because there is nothing that says anything about whatever ADB is.

    I have installed the moto drivers, installed motoconnect I have debugging on, I have tried it using mass storage as well as MPT. I have tried it with Mock locations on and off. Nothing I do will work, and I only have a few days left before I leave and will not be able to mess with it, and need it done before I leave.

    So sorry for sounding like a ranting teenage drama queen, but I am sure that you guys have probably been here to after 5 hours of failing.

    Any good help would be hugely appreciated.
  2. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Do you have it set to install applications from unknown sources, under security settings.
  3. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I do.
  4. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Did you extract the files for the utility right to the root of your C: drive?
  5. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are on my desktop, I did not see any guide or tutorial that says what I am supposed to do.
  6. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Try putting them on the root of C: and see what happens for you.
  7. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Also when you plug your phone in and do the drop down on the notification bar choose "MTP" for the mode.
  8. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When it is in MPT mode, can motocast still connect? Because when I put it in MPT mode, motocast can no longer connect via USB to the phone. So I am wondering if this is just a connection problem. But maybe motocast can't connect when in MPT mode.
  9. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And is Allow Mocked Locations supposed to be checked?
  10. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I am not sure why Motocast is a factor in the rooting process for you, but I can't answer that part because I don't use Motocast. I did not have mock locations checked for when I did it.
  11. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone please help?
  12. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps I got the one phone that is unrootable.
  13. jl1967
    Offline

    jl1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a same problem. I had to factory reset under Privacy because after ota to ics my phone wasn't running stable. After factory reset I lost root. After few hours of trial and error and now I got it back.

    1. Downloaded Matt's Failproof RazrUtility 1.7
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...-droid-razr-utility-1-7-failsafe-edition.html

    2. Unzipped all files.

    3. Downloaded new window driver and install them automatically.
    http://www.motorola.com/Support/US-...tware_and_Drivers/USB-and-PC-Charging-Drivers

    4. Connected to usb and left it at Mass Storage as it is.

    5. Click on RunMe.bat from unzipped utility 1.7

    6. Click on #3 for rooting ICS 4.0.4

    7. Followed the computer screen and razr is rooted.

    I was stuck on ADB.....thing but it was smooth sailing after I updated my window driver from Motorola site. Hope I did something good.
  14. jl1967
    Offline

    jl1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Motocast should/will have no impact on the root process.
  16. jl1967
    Offline

    jl1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  17. jl1967
    Offline

    jl1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. I was in the same situation but I guess you need to update your window driver for the ICS. After I update my window driver I was able to connect the phone on those 3 options. For rooting, I left it at as Mass Storage.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  18. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update which windows Driver? I have tried a few already. I am running Win 7 64bit.
  19. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    COuld the problem be, because I had a Bionic and some drivers for that could be interfearing with the drivers for the Razr?
  20. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I would remove all Motorola drivers and then install just the ones that are in the RAZR utility folder.
Search tags for this page
can't get my droid razr maxx 4.1.2 to root
,
droid razr hd 4.0.4 (ics) modem driver
,
help me root my razr
,
how do i root my droid maxx if i can't enable usb mass stora
,

how to root droid razr maxx without computer

,
how to root motorola razr i without a computer
,
how to root motorola razr maxx 4.0.4 without a computer
,
how to root razr 4.0.4 with no computer
,
how to root razr maxx 4.0.4 no pc
,
program similar to mpt for droid
,
razr maxx root 4.0.4 no computer
,

root droid razr without computer

,
root my droid razr maxx no computer
,
root razr maxx 4.0.4 without computer
,
root razr maxx without computer