can someone help?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by droidxd00d, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. droidxd00d

    droidxd00d Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I posted this is the DROID 3 forums too but I just bought a used DROID 3 from swappa for my gf and I am having trouble activating it. I went to the Verizon store and they told me to activate a used phone on her data plan I would have to switch to one of the new data plans. is there a way to activate it and keep her unlimited data?
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,070
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    This shouldn't be true, unless she is coming from a regular phone. If she is coming from a smartphone then she should be able to switch phones without any issues.

    Then again with the new turd plans in place they might've changed that too, I forget.
     
  3. droidxd00d

    droidxd00d Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    no she's coming from an android phone. I knew it sounded really shady so I told the sales rep no thanks
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,153
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Turn off the old phone and dial *228 on the new phone and select activation.... at least this used to be how to do it.... perhaps its been changed?

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  5. droidxd00d

    droidxd00d Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    well I did a factory data reset so I can't get to the dialer, or is there a way? its at the android start up screen right now
     
  6. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    You should be able to bypass that screen by starting at the top left and touching each corner in a clock wise pattern.

    But to activate the phone on her number you should be able to do it online from your MyVerizon account. I do it all the time. The *228 is just to program it once activated.
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,807
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,289
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    This is correct. You can also call 1-800-922-0204 and speak to technical support. They can activate it directly and will walk you through the same process .

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,807
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,289
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    This is completely BS. The client can put any phone on an existing plan, as long as its coming from a smartphone and going to a smartphone, and there are no plan changes required. The client can change phones anytime, even if they change the phones every day.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. scott craft

    scott craft Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    I activated a phone from swappa on my line in my Verizon store last Saturday and I didn't have any issues keeping my unlimited data. Actually they didn't even ask about my current plan. Sounds like whoever you talked to is giving bad info.

    Sent from my Rezound
     
  10. droidxd00d

    droidxd00d Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I activated it online and kept her unlimited data! thanks to everyone who responded! I love this forum!
     
  11. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    That's awesome! Very glad it worked out!

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
     
  12. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm hearing that customer service is trying to do anything they can to get you onto the family share plan. You did the right thing by stopping that initial conversation right then and seeking another route. We all need to be vigilant. Under no circumstances should anyone let a rep change their plan.