Can someone help me with voice dialing?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by JohnnyDanger79, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. JohnnyDanger79
    Offline

    JohnnyDanger79 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted this same question in another forum, but Im going to attempt to get an answer here. Im just really in need of an answer because my dad is ready to return his phone if he cant get this to work.

    My dad just got a Droid 2 from Verizon. Hes trying to use the voice dialing feature by holding down the search button and saying "call (inster name here) home (or cell)". When he does this, it brings up options to call other companies and people, but more from the internet. The call search will not dial from his contacts. When he says "call" then a phone number, that works fine.

    When I do the same thing on my Samsung Captivate it dials the person in my contacts right away. Ive gone to the settings and made sure that contact are listed in searchable items. We have been trying to get this to work for about a hour and not one call command from the contacts has worked.

    Can anyone tell me what we might be doing wrong?

    I appreciate any help. Thanks.
     
  2. Speech Maven
    Offline

    Speech Maven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gmail contacts

    Does your dad have the contacts listed in his gmail account?
     
  3. Kermitdj
    Offline

    Kermitdj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uh shouldn't he be hitting voice command icon? Not the search button..

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long holding the search button does bring up the voice command

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Kermitdj
    Offline

    Kermitdj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is an icon for it. It does everything. The other button searches online. I couldn't figure it out at first.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

    If it says google in the voice box, it's the wrong voice command box.
     
  6. JohnnyDanger79
    Offline

    JohnnyDanger79 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone, thanks for the responses. Still havent figured this out.

    My dad does not have his contacts listed with Gmail. Will that make a difference.

    And as spaz33g said, long pressing the search button bring ups the voice command, which he is doing to try to get the voice dialing to work.
     
  7. Kermitdj
    Offline

    Kermitdj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I said before, if it says "GOOGLE" on the voice search box, it's not the right one. That's google search, which searches the internet for matching terms of what you speak.

    If you want address searching, as I've said, there should be an icon you can hit or hot-key allowing you to say "Call Dad" or "Check Status" etc. This is what you need to be looking for, as far as I'm aware.
     
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off the native search WILL display contacts and were not talking about pressing the search button were talking about long pressing it.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. Kermitdj
    Offline

    Kermitdj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, please, accept my apologies for trying to assist. Please, take it from here. I'll observe and wait for the correct answer. :)
     
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    All i'm trying to say is that long pressing the search button will indeed bring up the voice command. There's no need for finding an icon.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Kermitdj
    Offline

    Kermitdj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And all I'm saying is, this doesn't seem to be working, so there's no harm in trying to find an icon to click, to double check that it is indeed working properly. There's no harm in being thorough, and trying multiple routes.
     
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok fair enough. Sorry for being short with you. However if long pressing the search button brings up the voice command I don't know what opening it by another method will do for you.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  13. JohnnyDanger79
    Offline

    JohnnyDanger79 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can have my dad try from the app itself (voice search) but I too dont know if that will make a difference. I will have him try it and get back to me tomorrow since its kind of late.

    If that doesnt work, do you have any other suggestions?
     
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm with my girl right now and I don't want to look like a freak making all kinds of voice commands, although she probably thinks that lol. I'll get on it when she goes to bed and see if I can't come up with something.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  15. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright so I think the contacts being attached to google may be the key. I was able to use voice search to call my mom and girlfriend, who are both attached to google, it worked just fine. Then I created a new contact on the phone named steve and gave him the number to a friends land line. When I used the search app and said "call steve" it did what you said your dad was experiencing, it brought up a bunch of companies starting with steve that i've never heard of.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App