Can someone confirm this.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by INSANENEIVIESIS, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just want to overclock uning stock 2.0.1 with root.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'm not sure I'm following your question, but if you use Sholes in the app store that sounds like what you are looking for. You'd also have to add SetCpu for overclocking.

    Sholes is on 2.0.3 right now however I think there is a selection for 2.0.2 still. Sorry if this wasn't what you're looking for.
     
  3. rednukleus
    Offline

    rednukleus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes. Chevy's program can do this for you quickly. I will find for you.
     
  4. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't want to use sholes i have not heard good things, nothing against the sholes team but it has some stability issues.
     
  5. rednukleus
    Offline

    rednukleus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  6. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a false rumor..... it runs great, those having trouble are a select few and most of the time it's user error.
     
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I had no problems running Sholes 2.0.2. I did have an issue with maps on 2.0.3, but it could have been easily fixed.

    Plus if you want to remove the root it's just so easy to do.
     
  8. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes that issue has been resolved as well with 2.0.3, they have now removed 2.0.2 option as 2.0.3 is very stable.
     
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Another +1 for sholes.....
     
  10. hughesjr
    Offline

    hughesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well ... to answer you real question, NO, you can not overclock the standard install.

    You will, at the very least, need to replace the BOOT partition of 2.0.1.

    That will mean you are no longer using the kernel from Motorola.

    Since the kernel is the single most important part of the system, then I am not sure why you would replace that and not replace other things.

    If all you want to replace is the kernel and overclock, then you can get one of the kernels out there and use flash_image to rewrite your boot partition.

    ChevyNo1 does have a script out there somewhere to do that.

    But, personally, I use the Sholes ROM and really have no issues with it at all (use the 2.0.1 launcher, not the 2.1 launcher).