Can not insall custom ROM's

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by dawnedzero, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm very new to rooting and finally decided to root my droid x last night. I have downloaded titanium, cpu master, etc. I can not get any ROM I download to install on to my phone using ROM manager. I may be doing something wrong but I can't figure out what it is. I follow the directions and I don't wan to have to SBF back to Froyo. I would appreciate any help.
  2. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you boot into recover, does it take you to stock recovery or clockwork?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It reboots just like normal back to the stock ROM no matter what ROM I download and try to install. I don't even see clockwork recovery it goes straight back to stock. I don't even see clockwork recovery when I try to install ROMs
  4. Hmong_Xiong
    Offline

    Hmong_Xiong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    303, Colorado
    did u flash clockwork mod?
  5. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I just tried that with genesis rom and nothing. Maybe roms are not compatible with gingerbread?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know this may be a dumb question but are you sure that you rooted? What method on gb did you use?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure it's rooted. I used DROID 3 easy root script 7 and CPU master, power saver, etc all flash messages stating they have superuser permissions. Would these apps work if I wasn't rooted?
  8. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if it gives the message you are probably rooted. I've never heard of that method, probably because its new but I know that the motorola one click method works perfectly for it. There are a few custom roms for GB. Make sure you have flashed clockwork from ROM manager. I believe if i'm not mistaken that you would the regular Droid x flash. Not the 2nd int. I'm currently using miui ROM which runs on GB even though it is flashed through froyo and runs on a froyo kernel. Its the best room imo. But you would have to sbf back to 2.3.340.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just flashed clockworkmod and it said download successful. I really want miui or cyanogen but am too inexperienced to SBF back to Froyo. Is there a one click method to SBF? That's the only reason I felt comfortable rooting in the first place, it was a one click method. I don't want to break my phone.
  10. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a 2.3.340 update.zip file though I haven't used it. A little helpful tip and something that has helped me out a lot is just searching on YouTube. They can show you step by step instructions and i'm a better learner from seeing rather than reading. Sbf'ing is not hard. Just search for Droid x 2.3.340 full sbf. I would post it but its not allowed. Google it. You'll find it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the help! I SBF back to froyo and now am looking for a rom. Where and how can I install MIUI?
  12. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the help! I SBF'd back. Where and how can I install MIUI?
  13. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Root with z4 root, install Droid 2 (not Droid x) bootstrap, and flash it that way. You can get miui at www.miui.us

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  14. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I followed the instructions and used bootstrap droid 2 and saved the zip file to my sd card and installed it from bootstrap recovery but now it won't load at all. It just stays at the motorola logo. Is my phone bricked now?
  15. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you wipe data, cache, dalvik? If not, go into stock recovery by turning off your phone, hold home and the power button at the same time. When you get the Android guy with the "!" In the triangle, push the search button and wipe that way.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  16. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I do both factory reset and data cache?
  17. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you do. Sorry, i'm trying to respond as fast as possible but i'm at work. Lol

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  18. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No worries I appreciate that you're even helping at all. So I'm going to try to install the MIUI ROM I downloaded and saved to my sd using bootstrap. I just wiped the caches and rebooted and am now going to install the ROM. Am I forgetting anything?
  19. forgottenhero86
    Offline

    forgottenhero86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure you wipe data too. Other than that I think you're good. I love this ROM. There are a few bugs but nothing major. Plus, they update it every Friday. Even though the Droid x updates seem to take a little longer to publish.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  20. dawnedzero
    Offline

    dawnedzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No go. It froze at the motorola logo again. Had to flash back back to froyo again to get my phone to boot. Don't know what I'm doing wrong other then I noticed that the miui zip file says gingerbread, so that may be the wrong version. Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong and don't know how wipe data either. I wiped all data/factory reset from the boot menu. Installed rom from sd card, said it was successful. Rebooted and it stuck on the logo for over ten minutes. Now I'm back to square one and have to reroot my phone and do this all over again. Do I have the wrong version of MIUI?