Can not get update.zip files to install

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by madeen2, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using Matth3w's thread [How To] Easily install Bugless Beast using only SPRecovery, Terminal Emulator, & zip and i have got my phone rooted and SPRecovery(0.99.3) loaded.When i went to start loading BB and other ROM's in SPR i get this

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:Can't open /sdcard/update.zip
    (bad)
    Installation aborted

    Here's the step leading to this
    1.reboot phone
    2.hold X and power
    (SPRecovery screen shows)
    3.Install
    4.Allow update.zip installation
    5.Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated)
    And then i get the Error message from above

    Here is some screen shots of my sdcard root files and properties of update.zip file

    sdcard root
    sdcard.JPG

    right click-properties
    update rc.JPG

    right click-properties-details
    rc-2.JPG

    I try and finger things out for myself from searching, Etc.The only thing i have came up with is a double zip file or not using the option of (allow update.zip installation) in SPR i have not done either of these i have also wiped my root and started fresh and tried other Rom's.So i am stuck with a rooted phone and no cool toys to play with.Any ideas of were i screwed up.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    when your in sprecovery and you go to "install" you need to chose the second option "allow update..." then "install update..."
     
  3. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Guchi that's the one i found while searching and i have been doing it in that order when tring to install BB to no avail
     
  4. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It just sounds like the zip file got corrupted somehow while downloading so I would definitely look into re-downloading that file..
     
  5. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blake,I have tried that about 3 different times now.
    There are still people posting up saying BB worked great for them(using same Linc).
    I just wiped my phone back to stock AGAIN and tried still nothing.
    I also tried different OC and smoked glass .zip files still notta.
    I must be screwing something just don't know what:cus:


    I am using my VZW air card to download all the files, maybe they are corrupting my files.or could it stupid Windows 7 screwing it up.Sunspots perhaps it couldn't be my own stupidity.....:hail::motdroidvert:
     
  6. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    The attachment screenshots you posted are invalid links - can you post again?

    I recommend doing an md5sum on the update.zip file.

    From Terminal Emulator:

    Code:
    busybox md5sum /sdcard/update.zip
    From the PC do the same thing (just md5sum). This will verify that it copied to the phone properly and is in the correct place as well.
     
  7. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$path
    $ su
    # busybox md5sum /sdcard/update.zip
    #0575261fc963960cb081aca1a5eba828 /sdcard/update.zip

    Exactly what it looks like on Terminal Emulator after typing it.
    So WTH does it mean:)
    Ill re post pics and thanks again
     
  8. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will have to excuse my stupid noobness but could you explain this step.I have not a clue were to start.


    I did get this message when i left clicked on the update.zip could this be anything?
    ERROR.JPG
     
  9. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    The checksum is there to help identify whether or not you have the right file and whether or not it's corrupted (i think lol not sure about the corruption part).

    Oh btw he meant to type in the same code into the Windows cmd prompt. If your checksums match that means nothing was corrupted from the journey from the pc to your sdcard.

    Are you sure it's not named update.zip.zip? EDIT: NM I just saw your images. You have file extensions turn off right?
     
  10. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I hope this is what you are talking about i dought i am doing It right the last time i had DOS was with a Tandy PC when i was 5

    wcp.JPG

    i'll look to see that the file extensions are turned off.I am sure they are that is the way the file imports just as update not update.zip

    EDIT:here are my menu options for files
    fex1.JPG
    fex2.JPG
     
  11. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha lol oh dear your typing in the wrong command lol, type this

    Code:
    md5sum /folderwhereyoudownloaded/update.zip
    MAKE SURE "/folderwhereyoudwonloaded/update.zip points to the original update.zip you downloaded on your computer. So if it's in your downloads folder /downloads/update.zip

    Be for warned I'm on a mac so I'm a little rusty with Windows terminal commands lol

    EDIT: just saw your added screencaps for the sake of troubleshooting can you uncheck "Hide extensions for known file types" in your first screencap of your folder preferences?

    EDIT2: Ok which update.zip are you trying to install? This is the latest one from Pete Bugless beast he has up: http://alldroid.org/viewtopic.php?f=309&t=2614
    Download it and do the md5sum command on it after putting it on your sdcard make sure its: b9898b123620f3391338599abceb4ce3
     
  12. madeen2
    Offline

    madeen2 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    :yr1: I don't know which one did it.I think it was "Hide extensions for known file types" but i also downloaded the BB zip file you suggested
    Thanks a zillion man.
    How ya like my new sig.?
    Now I'm off to get some new droid toys:icon_ banana:
     
  13. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha lol! Glad you got it to work!! :icon_ banana::icon_ banana:

    I'm guessing that you might have just been downloading an older version as Matth3w's tut's were made a while back so the files linked may not have been the up-to-date ones? Not sure but glad you got it working anyway!! :icon_ banana::icon_ banana: Enjoy!!
     
Search tags for this page

android market install files.zip

,
install update.zip terminal emulator
,

install zip with terminal emulator

,

sdcard update zip not found

,
sonsuz macera client update.zip indir
,
udate.zip sd card not found
,
update android zip file terminal
,
update zip
,
update.zip
,

update.zip is not correct