Can no longer access boot menu??

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rlandon, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. rlandon
    Offline

    rlandon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PCB, FL
    When using the power on and holding down the X key I get the yellow caution triangle but holding the volume up and camera button does not get me to the menu. It did work prior to manually installing the 2.1 update. Any ideas of how to get this back. Thinking of rooting the phone which requires going back to 2.0.1. TIA!
  2. droidman101
    Offline

    droidman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is actually the recovery mode, the sbf requires bootloader.

    Try hitting volume and camera multiple times-sometimes recovery takes a while to recognize the buttons are being pressed.
  3. droidman101
    Offline

    droidman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  4. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Shouldn't have done the OTA 2.1 update. That pretty much guarantees your phone to be useless except as VZW wanted it.

    Here are the exact instructions.
    1. TURN OFF YOUR PHONE.
    2. HOLD DOWN THE X KEY
    3. TURN ON YOUR PHONE
    4. When you see the cute exclamation mark triangle ....
    5. HOLD DOWN THE UP VOLUME KEY
    6. STILL HOLD IT DOWN
    7. PRESS AND RELEASE THE CAMERA BUTTON
    8. RELEASE THE UP VOLUME KEY
    enjoy.

    E
  5. rlandon
    Offline

    rlandon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PCB, FL

    Tried it the other night exactly as shown above and could not get past the exclamation mark triangle to the menu. Just tried again and wallah, it's working again.

    I had to try 2.1 and it works ok, but ready to go back and try the rom's. 2.1 still has some bugs and with the delays VZ took on getting out 2.1, who knows when we'll see another update. I've got the files to go back. Time to have some fun with the droid! :icon_ banana:
  6. droidman101
    Offline

    droidman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok just make sure you don't unplug it and don't freak out if on the computer it says failed because it acually worked, that's what happened to me. Once you are done it will reboot for you so don't touch the phone or unplug it until it does. Once you are rebooted hyour phone will prompt you to reactivate it by pressing 1, if not dial *228 and hit 1.

    Then you can install 2.0.1 update.zip, flash sprecovery, download pete's update with root and voila you have a rooted 2.1 droid with sprecovery. All you need to do is download a rom.
  7. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    they got rid of recovery mode for 2.1

    thats why you can't boot into it
  8. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you certain of this? Is it possible they changed how you enter into recovery mode?

    If you're just guessing/IMHOing, that's cool... but if you KNOW please tell us :)

    E
  9. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, thats a (incorrect) guess. ;)
  10. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    well i was informed that this was the case

    i stand corrected :)

    edit: this is where i got the info

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad/36292-help-phone-wont-turn-2.html#post385662
    post #18
Search tags for this page
android device with no boot menu
,
boot menu droid
,
droid 3 boot menu
,

droid boot menu

,
droid charge boot menu
,
droid x boot menu
,
droid x how to boot menu
,
how to access android boot menu
,
how to access boot menu android laptop
,
how to get to droid boot menu
,
motorola droid 3 fast boot menu access
,
note 3 can no longer go into boot menu