Can I use unlocked Verizon Droid in Canada (Rogers)?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by exphone, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. exphone
    Offline

    exphone New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question guys, I am a real phone newbie here.

    I currently have a blackberry plan on Rogers here in Canada, and was wondering if I buy an unlocked Verizon Droid, would I be able to use this with my sim?
     
  2. exphone
    Offline

    exphone New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question guys, I am a real phone newbie here.

    I currently have a blackberry plan on Rogers here in Canada, and was wondering if I buy an unlocked Verizon Droid, would I be able to use this with my sim?

    thanks guys!
     
  3. its.mike
    Offline

    its.mike Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Droid is CDMA, sim's are used on GSM networks. So no you wouldn't be able to.
     
  4. exphone
    Offline

    exphone New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about the Milestone?
     
  5. StupidGenius
    Offline

    StupidGenius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    This isn't quite true. All carriers in Canada use GSM now, but there are two that just very recently overlaid there CDMA networks with GSM. The CDMA network is still there. They can't just dismantle the CDMA network without alienating the millions that still have CDMA-only phones. But whether an unlocked Verizon will work on their CDMA network, I don't know.

    Canada's CDMA operators defect to HSPA/LTE - FierceBroadbandWireless

    EDIT: And yes the Milestone will work there.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  6. ZBoater
    Offline

    ZBoater Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not an expert either, but I think Rogers is GSM, and uses SIMs, and the Droid currently is not (and does not use SIM cards), so the answer would be no.
     
  7. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Rogers is indeed a GSM network. So our droids would not work on them. However the milestones work on the networks ;). This is how some of the users in the USA are getting the GSM to work on AT&T, and other networks.
     
Search tags for this page

can verizon motrola smart phone use in canada

,

can we unlocked verizon in canada

,

can you use a verizon android phone in canada

,

can you you use a verizon phone with rogers bell 2014

,

does verizon phones work rogers

,

motorola droid turbo canada rogers

,

using verizon droid x in canada

,

using verizon smartphone in canada

,

will motorola droid work in canada

,

will my verizon droid x2 work in canada