can i root my bionic

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Trance, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im on firmware 5.5.893.xt875.en.us

    If so can someone please link a guide possibly a guide that shows you how to create original os to store away.

    Im sick of the blah look and i found a really nice gui i like. Epicblue

    Anyhow thanks!!!
  2. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
  3. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Moving thread to Bionic sub-forum...
  4. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ty! Checking it out now

    Hopefully your not living in a lonely world ;-)
  5. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Haha...no, there is plenty of company...me, myself and I :)...LOL

    But that is a great song!
  6. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    I *had* my Bionic rooted but absentmindedly installed the firmware patch you speak of... I havent been able to re-root yet because 875 fixed the exploit. As far as i know, which may or may not be much, you cant root with this patch installed. I used petes root toolbox, perhaps another toolkit works.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  7. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im kind of scared to screw my phone up x.x

    Can i still update apps with a rooted phon?
  8. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yes, you can still update apps.

    However, if you freeze/rename/delete any bloat, you would need to have it back to stock to update via OTA...

    ~the machine is nothing without the woman~
  9. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awe:( rooting doesnt get rid of the useless apps that hog space?
  10. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yes, it does... You can use an app like titanium backup to either rename or freeze (I don't recommend deleting) and then when you want to take the OTA, defrost them or name them back...

    ~the machine is nothing without the woman~
  11. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    On a phone as powerful as the Bionic I doubt the bloatware really eats up that much in resources...however, I debloat out of sheer principle and contempt for our corporate overlords :p

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As soon as home internet is working im diving in

    So do i back up data first or is that done during rooting?

    Also i have no clue what rename freeze or float means for apps lol
  13. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    Yes. After rooting backup your whole system (it takes 10-15 minutes usually). In fact, backup your system anytime you make significant changes to it just like a PC.

    Sent from my Motorola Xoom tablet using DroidForums
  14. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So i pmd smalltowngirl and she gave me some apps like ultimate back up, backuppro. But i see a lot of people talking about titanium app. Are they all the same? Thanks
  15. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so i did that one step thing you posted smalltowngirl and it did not root my phone :(
  16. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    They all ultimately do the same thing. I use ClockworkMod for my ROM Manager. Titanium backup is good though...easy to use.

    Btw, you cannot root with the firmware version you currently have. I accidentally installed that update and it patched the exploit that allowed root access (my Bionic used to be rooted...it was good while it lasted) We basically have to wait until a bypass is found for whatever Motorola did to close that door. Eventually someone will figure it out.

    To anyone who still has a rooted Bionic, dont update until that patch is bypassed lol

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  17. crazytrain69
    Offline

    crazytrain69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to search and search but I found a root process from p3droid that worked. After that I did the 4ever root with success. If I can get the links again I will post them on here.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  18. jkliving92
    Offline

    jkliving92 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First Try this. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=173870

    If that doesn't work you'll you'll need to do this. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=190331

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  19. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Did you use the links posted above this post to get root?

    Also, the apps I gave you for backing up is if you are non-rooted...Titanium Backup is a good app for once you are rooted (it requires root on the phone to work) and it will also freeze bloat for you. Ultimate Backup will work with non-root and then provide additional features once rooted so if you use that one while being not-rooted, you can also use it once rooted and it will offer almost all the same features of TiBu...
  20. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. I dl drivers and ran the .exe file. I also tried a different onestep so i dl them drivers a d the .exe file. No root

    Said some about can tun something.adb i think along those lines.

    Im just assuming this new droid update blocks that root. I will check other links. Thanks everyone.

    Gahh **** being at work!! Its 8am ahh and friday :O
Search tags for this page

root droid bionic 98.75.22.xt875