can i root my bionic

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Trance, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im on firmware 5.5.893.xt875.en.us

    If so can someone please link a guide possibly a guide that shows you how to create original os to store away.

    Im sick of the blah look and i found a really nice gui i like. Epicblue

    Anyhow thanks!!!
     
  2. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
  3. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Moving thread to Bionic sub-forum...
     
  4. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ty! Checking it out now

    Hopefully your not living in a lonely world ;-)
     
  5. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Haha...no, there is plenty of company...me, myself and I :)...LOL

    But that is a great song!
     
  6. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I *had* my Bionic rooted but absentmindedly installed the firmware patch you speak of... I havent been able to re-root yet because 875 fixed the exploit. As far as i know, which may or may not be much, you cant root with this patch installed. I used petes root toolbox, perhaps another toolkit works.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im kind of scared to screw my phone up x.x

    Can i still update apps with a rooted phon?
     
  8. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Yes, you can still update apps.

    However, if you freeze/rename/delete any bloat, you would need to have it back to stock to update via OTA...

    ~the machine is nothing without the woman~
     
  9. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awe:( rooting doesnt get rid of the useless apps that hog space?
     
  10. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Yes, it does... You can use an app like titanium backup to either rename or freeze (I don't recommend deleting) and then when you want to take the OTA, defrost them or name them back...

    ~the machine is nothing without the woman~
     
  11. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    Ratings:
    +0
    On a phone as powerful as the Bionic I doubt the bloatware really eats up that much in resources...however, I debloat out of sheer principle and contempt for our corporate overlords :p

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  12. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As soon as home internet is working im diving in

    So do i back up data first or is that done during rooting?

    Also i have no clue what rename freeze or float means for apps lol
     
  13. Buukyak
    Offline

    Buukyak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MINNESOTA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. After rooting backup your whole system (it takes 10-15 minutes usually). In fact, backup your system anytime you make significant changes to it just like a PC.

    Sent from my Motorola Xoom tablet using DroidForums
     
  14. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i pmd smalltowngirl and she gave me some apps like ultimate back up, backuppro. But i see a lot of people talking about titanium app. Are they all the same? Thanks
     
  15. Trance
    Offline

    Trance New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so i did that one step thing you posted smalltowngirl and it did not root my phone :(
     
Search tags for this page

root droid bionic 98.75.22.xt875