can I restore image backup from another Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by thinkmega, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. thinkmega

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone! Can I restore image from another Droid? I have more than one and it is a little inconvenient to manage the backup from all of them. I wonder if I can use one set of backup, less cache/data on any of the phones.

    Please give your advise. Thanks.
     
  2. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +11
    I am assuming you are rooted. If I understand your question correctly..... backups are stored on your sd card. So I think in theory you can but that means swapping your sd cards around all the time and restoring the backups. Not sure it would be worth it.
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    As long as both phones are running the same rom, I agree the files should be interchangeable.

    Another possibility

    Mount one of your phones copy the SD card to your computer
    Mount the second phone copy any or all files from phone one to phone two.

    Hope this helps.

    Mike

    I would not exchange backups with a different phone if it belonged to someone else!
     
  4. thinkmega

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the apps are stored at google. ? Is this how it works?

    I always have a copy on my file server at home (one on the phone, one "off site"). My concern was ... if the backup copy contains phone hardware finger-print specific information so restoring a backup from another phone might introduce "activation"-related problem.

    If that wouldn't be the case, I think it just makes the backup management a lot easier.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    It works....Done it.

    But you will have all their contacts, personal info...ect.....
     
  6. thinkmega

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    even I log in my gmail account? What about the apps?
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    BB is correct and that I why I edited my first post to say I would not share backups with other individuals.

    Mike
     
  8. thinkmega

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, I am going to give it a try. As long as the restore wouldn't cause activation related issue, I want to see how much personal info got carried over from the backup.

    Thanks.
     
  9. thinkmega

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just did it.

    1. If I didn't wipe out data and cache, it would carry the original owner's preference settings, home screen;

    2. After clearing the data/cache, it would be like installing a new ROM the first time;

    Good to experience this. I think I might want to keep individual backup as going through the market app update/setup is quite a lengthy process.

    Thanks for all the help here!
     
Search tags for this page
can i copy one galaxy rom to another
,
can i copy rom from 1 s4 to another
,
can i copy rom from phone to phone
,
can i image a smartphone and restore on another?
,

can you copy the samsung rom from 1 phone to another

,
copy a rom to another phone
,
droid backup image
,
droid charge restore image
,
how to copy a rom from one phone to another
,
restore android backup from one phone to another