can I install the recent (Dec 2010) OTA update while rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by upjeeper, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. upjeeper
    Offline

    upjeeper New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    madison, wi
    my phone has wanted to install the over the air update but doesn't seem to be able to. I rooted about a month ago.

    Do I need to unroot to do this install?

    I did search and was unable to come up with any detail.

    Thanks much
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yup, you sure can.

    You didn't ask how so I'm sure you know how. :)

    Yeah, I'm a jerk, wanna fight about it? ;)

    How did you root?
  3. upjeeper
    Offline

    upjeeper New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    madison, wi

    damn... guess i should have been more specific...
    i'd love to know how please and thank you.

    how did I root. uh. crap. I transferred the "install.zip" file over and ran that. I'm not too swift when it comes to my droid.
    is there more info that would help?
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I asked about the rooting method because how you did it will tell me how I can help you get the update. :)

    And I'm guessing the Family Guy reference didn't register, which means you're probably not a Family Guy fan, which means you have some taste -- I like that. :D So you have my apologies for any offense I might have given. Also, the more specific you can be about whatever problem you're having and what you want to get for help the more specific the answers can be and the faster we can fix your problem. :)

    So you used Motocache1's rooting method? Link two in my signature.
  5. upjeeper
    Offline

    upjeeper New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    madison, wi
    ahh. it's all coming back to me.

    1. did not pick up on the family guy reference, i tried to get into that show, but man... just can not do it. My wife may argue with you about my taste, being an engineer i tend to find humor in places I should, or not see it in places I should.
    wasn't offended, i appreciate the attempt at humor. no worries at all.

    2. Yes, I used Motocache1's methor to root, that is correct. Thanks by the way, I was searching and searching to try to remember how in the heck I did my room.

    3. CURRENT STATUS - My phone (original Droid, running Froyo) appears to have pulled down the new OTA update, and is asking me to install it but when I go to install the update it reboots and goes to the install/reboot/etc screen.
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I'm not a Family Guy fan but I watch it. Go figure. :)

    Are you on 22D or 01B for FroYo? If it's 01B you'll probably need to update to 22D before the update will work. If it's 22D then the answer is simple -- download the OTA file manually, put it on the root of your SD card, name it update.zip (sound familiar?), then boot into recovery manually and then tell SPRecovery to allow update.zip install and then install update.zip (deprecated). It should install the OTA file with no problem.

    Then to reroot you'll need to follow Moto's instructions again. No biggie. :)
  7. upjeeper
    Offline

    upjeeper New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    madison, wi
    Thanks!

    i'm running 22D

    then i need to figure out what to do to make this thing faster. it's so horribly slow...
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Custom ROM will set you right up with speed, believe me. Don't need to update to get that ROM, though. Just flash it now.
  9. upjeeper
    Offline

    upjeeper New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    madison, wi
    thanks, i installed Bugless beast last night and seems to work great
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I hope you're running the latest version with the bug-fixes. :)

    Hard to name something Bugless if you have bugs, but... I'm not the one who named it.
  11. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Project Elite v4 seems to be running stable and is fast, if you want to try that rom. Its a FRG83D build. His releases always seem to be bug free.
Search tags for this page

can i update over the air with a rooted phone

,

what happens when you air update with a root installed