Can I flash a new kernel on a rooted droid without a custom rom?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Jkasper777, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. Jkasper777
    Offline

    Jkasper777 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Title pretty much sums it up.
     
  2. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes you can.
     
  3. Jkasper777
    Offline

    Jkasper777 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok cool. What would be a good kernel to use? I'm tryin to get my droid to atleast 1ghz.
     
  4. bmking24
    Offline

    bmking24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like slayhers kernels myself! I have used p3 and Chevy's in the past and have no complaints either. Slayhers kernels are great because they have the cpu temp through setcpu

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    pretty much any kernel that is for the droid...kernels are the same besides voltage and clockspeeds, well some can have major differences but a user like yourself wont notice any difference.
     
Search tags for this page

can i flash kernel witout a rom in android

,

how to flash kernel without computer