1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

can i edit roms like this?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tktouch12, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like a couple things from one rom, so can I just copy those apks into the rom I want to use? I'm sure some work, but are some roms special?
  2. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Make sure that you don't pull anything from a 2.0.1 ROM to put on a 2.1 ROM (or vice-versa).
  3. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's actually what I wanted to do ultimate is a 2.1. But it has a couple widgets I really want to add to bugless beast. It also has a couple music programs I want. Do they have to be 'ported' or can I add them?? I was thinking about adding the live wallpers, would that work?
    Thqnks
  4. Benny
    Offline

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your editing the nandroid backup, then you have to change the md5 checksum.
    I don't think it will work if going from 2.1 to 2.01, but there's no harm in trying.
  5. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    K, them I'm gonna try. Could I just install the apks after I flash a nandroid file? If not, how do I edit the md5 checksum?
  6. Benny
    Offline

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you wanna just install apk's then just get the apk's put it on your sdcard and use Astro to install it.
    If the Apk is a stock/system app, the you have to use adb push command(not so sure what it is).
  7. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I know that you will NOT be able to get the live wallpapers onto 2.0.1

    If that was possible don't you think one of the devs would have accomplished this already??
  8. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya i figured they would, thought id ask