Can I do a nandroid full restore on replacement phone?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by rda990, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    I just got sent a replacement droid from verizon since my current droids charging port is broken/not working at times.Right now its rooted 2.0.1 and I will make a full nandroid backup and was wondering if I can fully restore it on the replacement phone.Obviously I would have to downgrade (if it has 2.1/2.2) and root it and install SPRecovery so I can restore it,but since it is an exact backup/copy of the old phone wouldn't that mean it copied the MEID of the old phone?and will be restoring it on the replacement one??

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    If the recovery image is correct and the file is on you SD card, sure, why not?
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    yea most backups are data and cache so it should work fine

    would not have copied MEID
     
  4. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah I know it would work I'm just wondering if it will copy the MEID,the MEID is like a unique code for every phone that identifies it,if it has the old MEID, the phone wouldn't be able to be programed since verizon deleted it.

    And since I'm doing a FULL backup/restore I'm selecting "BOOT,CACHE,DATA,MISC,RECOVERY,and SYSTEM" to backup and restore so I'm not sure in which orbit the MEID would be saved.
     
  5. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It should be transparent. You should be fine.
     
  6. megaerairae

    megaerairae New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fully awesome. I was just wondering the same thing since my power button just ceased to be pushable today. I think I'll flash back to stock before taking it in to the Verizon store, but the thought of redoing every single thing I have modded on this phone was making me question taking it in at all.

    Many thanks!
     
  7. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    IMO no. Someone can correct me if I'm incorrect, but the MEID is a hard coded number in the hardware itself, which is why they have stickers for that information besides aving it obtainable on the phone. It's not part of the OS itself. But the OS can read it.

    Similar to a MAC addy on network hardware...
     
  8. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly.

    The issue is going from an ESN to a MEID. Are you guessing or do you know?

    This thread isn't for opinions, people need facts.
     
  9. bentley789

    bentley789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm this works. I just got a replacement phone for the power nutton issue. I activated it as normal, then did a advance nadroid restore. Every worked fine.
     
  10. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also, no need to downgrade anymore to root!

    Link 2 in my sig now has a new SPR.sbf that can be flashed over ANY android OS. Then you can just install any 2.2 Rom to gain root!
     
  11. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks.

    OP didn't mention an ESN, just Droid to Droid ... Going from an ESN to MEID may not work, as all Droids began with MEID anyways. For phones that had the old ESN, the carrier uses a DB that holds assigned MEID's to those older ESN's.
     
  12. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks,but im still going to have to go back to 2.0.1 since that is what my original backup is of =/


    ??Why is ESN mentioned here?Doesnt the Droid only have MEID?? Before i got the Droid i had some Lg's (Voyager and enV Touch) i would mess around with them and make backups/clones of them.When it was time to restore on another replacement device,it would restore EVERYTHING aka cloning it,including the ESN of the original,which was sometimes a mistake.Once you get a replacement,verizon "blacklists" the old ESN so it cannot be activated/used anymore.In this case since im getting a replacement they would be blacklisting the old MEID from the Droid i am sending.That is why i hope the MEID doesnt get copied over =/
     
Search tags for this page
can nandroid backup restore another android phone of the sam
,
flash nandroid backup on replacement phone
,
nandroid back up can transfer to another phone
,
nandroid restore to another phone
,
nandroid without root
,
restore nandroid backup from another phone
,
restore nandroid backup on different phone
,

restore nandroid backup to new phone

,
restore nandroid from another device
,

restore nandroid to another phone