can i add scripts to a rom by just copying the file?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tktouch12, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    bugless beast has some really great terminal commands. unfortunately, i think overall i like ultimate droid better (simply stunning looks good too, but so does bb) anyway, can i copy the file from xbin to a different rom and will it work? for example, take "blockads" from the bb xbin folder and move it into the ultimate droid xbin folder?
    thanks
  2. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    In most cases, yes.
  3. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tk, did you have to run these commands to get Petes scripts to work on BB? Adryn would one have to get the scripts to work/function on BB before they were transfered to another ROM?

    su
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 777 /system/xbin/enablescripts
    enablescripts

    type the scripts that you wanna use, then:
    mount -o remount,ro /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot







    Thanks\/
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Let me take a look at them.
  5. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    I don't think so. All enablescripts does is give wide open permission to the scripts, so you don't have to use su.

    I might be old fashioned, and to each their own, but there are things I rather have su required for.