1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can Droid 3 Be Upgraded to Ice Cream Sandwich?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by RobbyJ859, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. RobbyJ859
    Offline

    RobbyJ859 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I received my Droid 3 as a replacement for multiple defective Droid X's about a month and a half ago. I became curious as to what system version I was running, 2.3.4. To me this seemed to be a little dated. So I began looking online at the latest versions of Android. I stumbled upon the Android Version History Wiki page. Here, under the "v4.x Ice Cream Sandwich" heading I found, "Google's Gabe Cohen stated that Android 4.0 was "theoretically compatible" with any Android 2.3.x device in production at that time. The source code for Android 4.0 became available on 14 November 2011, three days before the Galaxy Nexus was released." So, seeing as how I am running version 2.3.4 - does anyone know if my Droid 3 has the ability to be upgraded to 4.0?
  2. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hashcode is working on an ICS ROM for it. You *may* not ever see it in an official OTA, but you'll likely have a ROM you could run if you rooted.
  3. RobbyJ859
    Offline

    RobbyJ859 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, not the most tech savvy! I have heard of "rooting" my phone, but never really knew what it meant. And where, if you know, could I find said ROM?
  4. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
  5. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I know, due to its 1.2 ghz processor, it can.
  6. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The processor is not the limiting factor, there are 1ghz single cores out there that already have CM9 running on them. It is whether Vzw/Motorola decides to support a device that is already replaced by its successor. Someone will port ICS to the D3 that is for sure, it just might not be an OTA. As far as the specs of the phone, it is more than powerful enough to support ICS.

    OP, do some reading and research on Android. Just because a phone is "Android" does not mean that you can just run the latest version on it without writing for the specific hardware being run. That's like assuming a stock Mircosoft Video driver will work properly for an ATI or Nvidia card even though they are all on Windows.
  7. TDJ112
    Offline

    TDJ112 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I already have it. :wink-b:
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Do tell!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ha, I'm just running hashcodes cm9 hack. Its now a daily driver because the rear camera works.

    Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
can a droid 3 be upgraded to icecream
,

can droid 3 run ice cream sandwich

,
can droid 3 run ics
,
can i update my droid 3 to ice cream sandwich
,
can the droid 3 run ice cream sandwich
,

droid 3 ice cream sandwich

,
droid 3 ice cream sandwich upgrade
,
droid 3 running ice cream sandwich(ics)/android 4.0.3 instal
,

droid 3 upgrade to ice cream sandwich

,
how far can you upgrade the droid 3
,
how to upgrade droid 3 to ice cream sandwich
,
ice cream sandwich on droid 3
,
motorola xt862 ics
,
upgrade droid 3 to ice cream sandwich
,
xt862 ice cream sandwich