Can contacts be transferred right now?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by svengoolie, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. svengoolie
    Offline

    svengoolie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The instructions that came with the phone say to go to Verizon's site, choose your old phone and new, and follow the directions. Well, the S3 is not on that site. I don't want to activate this thing and somehow lose my contacts. Can't I just use Backup Assistant like normal?
  2. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. Mine transferred just fine.
  3. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you coming from an Android phone? If so then your contacts should sync with your Google account if you had them set to back up to it.
  4. svengoolie
    Offline

    svengoolie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I'm coming from a Droid X. I would assume I can use Backup Assistant, I'm just scared that I might lose something.

    But I tried turning it on about 20 minutes ago... and ever since then it's said that it's activating. Pretty sure it shouldn't take this long.
  5. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    You may have to call customer service. Mine did that and then it said it had encountered a problem. Tried again, same thing. A quick call to tech support got it up and running in a couple minutes.
  6. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You shouldnt lose anything. It should stay on the Dx unless you reset it. I have heard the S3 is taking a while to activate.
  7. squeekybigfoot
    Offline

    squeekybigfoot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just use the google contact backup, i had no problem.
  8. coolsixty
    Offline

    coolsixty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    agreed, using android, google contacts is your best backup tool.
Search tags for this page
droid 2 transfer contacts
,
how to sync contacts to google account samsung galaxy s3 ver
,
how to transfer contacts from android to samsung galaxy s3
,
how to transfer contacts from htc incredible s to galaxy 4
,

how to transfer contacts from htc incredible to galaxy s3

,
how to transfer contacts from htc incredible to samsung gala
,
taking contacts from droid x2 to samsung s3
,
transfer contacts from droid x to samsung galaxy s3 verizon
,

transfer contacts to samsung galaxy s3 verizon

,
transfer data from droid x to samsung galaxy s3