Can Backup Assistant be removed?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by budmonster, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. budmonster

    budmonster Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    2 questions.

    Verizon Backup Assistant came preloaded, is it necessary to keep it on the DX? Doesn't Google save all your info, contacts, etc. already? I'm just trying to figure out what apps I dont need on the DX? Is there a list out there of apps/files that can be removed without breaking the phone?

    I'm trying to improve my DX in any way possible. I found this article below, does this actually make a difference.?

    How to Increase Droid X Call Quality

    I'm trying to find more little tips like these to improve my phone.

    Currently, my 3G is slow as hell, it seriously takes forever to open up a simple website or download 3MB mp3. On WIFI dont get me started, my FIOS plan is 35 mbps down 35 up and I'm luck to get 600 down. Anyone have slow speeds with 3G on their DX?
     
  2. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you can remove Backup Assistant; however, I have found it useful. Google doesn't seem to backup numbers that I edit from facebook contacts.

    What I do is I have fb synced on my phone. If a number field isn't filled in and I manually do so, google doesn't recognize the change - backup assistant does.

    If you want to make your phone faster, install a rom - rubix is fast, I'm using simply stunning, it's great and you can make it as blurry or blurless as you want
     
  3. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    BA isnt hurting anything, and if anything, it never hurts to have more than 1 method of backing up your phones contacts and such. I used to have an HTC Touch, synced to my Outlook 2007 account, which backed up everything to my PC...as well as backing my contacts up to the My Phone "cloud" service. Guess what happened one day...my PC crashed fatally and I lost an entire hard drive...wouldnt have been so bad except that I had just gotten a new CLNR for my phone that same afternoon! Luckily I was able to log into my My Phone account from the wifes laptop and synch my phone over the internet...I lost all my documents and pictures that werent backed up elsewhere, but I did get all my phone contacts back...
     
  4. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Correct me if I am wrong, but BA should not be removed from your X. Causes problems after Factory Data Reset.
     
  5. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    By remove I mean renamed to .bak from .apk in /system/app
    Certain roms remove it entirely. I'm already on the .sbf bandwagon so it doesn't really matter for me at this point
     
  6. budmonster

    budmonster Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    i came from a d1. i like blur but not much of it, some of the widgets i really like. the whole social network integration i think is cool. you reccommend chevys DX rom? i want blur, but not to much. my phone seems to be a "lil" slow, I'm assuming to all the blur apps? im trying to find a FAQ of what apps can be removed safely from the DX.

    EDIT: why do i always have to "link" phone number together in my contacts for pics to show up. i have to click on a number and hit "link" and click on that persons name to join them. i dont understand this lol.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2010
  7. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I highly recommend Chevy's X rom (even though I bricked my phone and had to send it in to verizon on my first attempt at installing it...DON'T format /system :laugh:)

    The best part about Chevy's Rom is it comes with all the blur, but you use Chevy's tools to eliminate what blur you don't want. Now, I was doing this with ADB Tools awhile back, but after foraying into the world of ROMs this is a handy feature that not only makes my life easier, but makes it simple for a complete noob to do as well.

    It's also got some nice stock apps like DevTools and ChevyNo1Tools for you to play around with.

    Rubix is pure unblurred speed. I like my Backup, so I chose Chevy. To each his own.

    As for you other problem...I have no idea...my FB photos sync automatically with a few minor exceptions :eek:hmy:
     
  8. budmonster

    budmonster Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    im on rubix rom. i have to backupassistant.apk

    a v1.0 and v2.2.1. do i need both? or can i delete the v1.0?
     
  9. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    dunno. experiment. change the .apk to .bak and see if it still works.
     
Search tags for this page
backup assistant slow
,
change backup assistant number
,

does backup assistant save pictures

,
does backup assitant slow down phone
,
how do i add photos to my backup assistant on motorola droid
,
how do i delete pictures from my backup assistant
,
if i back-up with cloud i dont need backup assistant right?
,
is backup assistant necessary
,
is verizon backup necessary
,
samsung intensity 3 reset backup assistant