Can anyone tell me WHY...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by shane1v, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. shane1v

    shane1v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...they choose to not have Speed Dial? it's a basic phone function on EVERY other phone on the planet. AND they have it enabled on the 1 "button" to call voicemail!! WHY did they go this route???
     
  2. Donkey Hodie

    Donkey Hodie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, speaking for myself, it'd be a pain in the butt to slide out the keyboard or do the number pad->long press on 1, or something similar. I've created direct dial links for the numbers I call most often and put them on a separate screen. I've put enough physical distance between the icons I can dial them without even looking at the phone.
     
  3. shane1v

    shane1v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a workaround- "direct dials" in a folder...

    I want to know WHY they chose to remove a basic cell phone convenience.
     
  4. apeshitninja

    apeshitninja Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    There is probably an app for that...
     
  5. shane1v

    shane1v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Again... WHY need an app for a basic function??
     
  6. Donkey Hodie

    Donkey Hodie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's hard to second guess design decisions but I suspect it has to do with the physical design of the phone i.e., there is no readily accessible keypad on which to long press a number for speed dial.

    If I recall correctly (it's been a while since I used it) the iPhone also doesn't have speed dial, probably for the same reason.
     
  7. apeshitninja

    apeshitninja Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    This. I haven't really missed speed dial since I can easily create shortcuts and access my contacts. You have a point that it's a feature found on most basic phones, but this isn't your basic phone. You'd still have to click the 'phone' icon, then hit a number key, then Dial or something similar. I would guess that the Google developers figured since that would be 3 clicks anyway, it's much easier to just allow you to create a shortcut you can get to with one or two clicks. Not to mention you have the option use voice dialing.

    Then again, that's just a guess.
     
  8. m3kilpat

    m3kilpat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Favorites is essentially the same thing as speed dial. You wouldn't have more than 10 people on speed dial most likely so when looking at a list of 10 numbers it isn't hard to find someone.
     
  9. raven1911

    raven1911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, I just use favorites for all my commons calls. Works great!
     
  10. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why do you think everyone wants what you specifically want? Consider that you can modify the Droid in this and many, many other ways. That's one of the major points of the Droid, IMO.
     
  11. JayMonster

    JayMonster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    As others have said, using favorites with Contacts (something that is not available or convoluted on a "basic" phone) is a better way. Yes, I understand that old habits die hard, but there are better ways on a smart phone to reach the same end.
     
  12. Moondonkey

    Moondonkey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya'll use your fingers to dial numbers?!!

    I just hit the microphone and say "Call George Washington" or whoever. and the phone does the rest. I might have to select which number i want if the contact has multiple #'s.