Can anyone explain why the SD card is only 8GB while Droids was 16?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by hookbill, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I don't know I just assumed it would be 16 gb like the Droid. And why not just take the 16 gb card out of the Droid and put it in the D2?
     
  2. jynylr

    jynylr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't the Droid 2 have 8 GB of internal memory along with the 8GB sd card? I guess they figured the internal memory would compensate for the smaller sd card? :/
     
  3. cromo8

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually yes that is the reason why
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    But 8 + 8 still equals 16.

    Is there any reason not to take the 16 gb card out of the Droid and put it in the D2. Because the last time I checked 16 + 8 equals 24.

    Before I actually do this I want to know if I can. Logically I think I can.
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    why wouldnt u be able to? cant they all support up to a 32 GB memory card?
     
  6. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sdcard should work for anything that supports up to the determined capacity.
     
  7. ReyZero

    ReyZero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could get a 32GB SD card, if you have the wallet.
    I don't mind the 8, although I pulled my 8 from my Sirius Stiletto 2 that I owned YEARS ago and it was a class 4 card, versus the class 2 that comes with the Droid 2.
    On a side note, checked the SD card from my other Droid 2 and the SD cards and they were different. Some had the product numbers on the front, and the other had it on the back. Both were SanDisk I believe, and class 2.
     
  8. Syraz

    Syraz Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my replacement droid today, and well it was a brand spankin new Droid 2, pulled that 8gb sd card out fast as I could and put in my 16gb from the droid, no problems to report on
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    It looked like I had a lot of unnecessary stuff on my 16 gb card. I had taken a copy of it and put it on my desktop of my mac and now I'm restoring what I want in there, my music, pictures, that kind of stuff. I wanted to start out clean.

    As you all said, no problem with doing it. I just wanted to make certain, I'm pretty computer literate and understand the concept of moving the SD card from one phone to another. But I just wanted to double check.

    My download folder had garbage in it. I couldn't believe it.
     
  10. R Droid

    R Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every time you download something and then uninstall it, it leaves some garbage behind.

    As long as your device can support that size card, it can be used in place of the 8 Gb.
    They only put in a 8Gb for cost reasons. Think about the 10s of thousands of phones they put out there. It's all $$$
     
  11. Hockey

    Hockey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I suppose when/if I get the D2, I can go and completely delete/format my SD card (minus what I want) from my D1 and it won't hurt anything?
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Make a copy of it first and place it on your desktop of your computer. Then you can do it. There is stuff I'm sure you're going to want to keep like your pictures, music.
     
Search tags for this page

explain 8gb sd card

,

stilleto 2 16 gb memory card