"Camsounds off"

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Eddog4DROID, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told I can do this:


    open a terminal and type:

    su
    camsounds off



    Will this work if you are using Android 2,2 stock -- rooted, w/o a ROM (Maybe I am using a ROM, I don't know--I am using the Stock 2.2 from ROM Manager -- if there is a better way to go stock, let me know!)
     
  2. Cleskers

    Cleskers Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ky
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. If you have some type of file manager system like root explorer, you can go under system/media/audio/ui. That is were the ogg file is. Just rename and add .bak to the end of the file name.


    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  3. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,590
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,807
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I believe what your looking for are scripts. They can be different in each rom. If you can find the scripts for your rom then you can turn the sounds on and off. If not, Cleskers idea may work. Just rename the file as it was to get it back to stock. You might need to reboot for the changes to show.
     
  4. Cleskers

    Cleskers Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ky
    Ratings:
    +0
    If they are rooted and stock it will not have scripts. I used this method on my D1.

    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  5. sam5828

    sam5828 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    why not just get the c volume app and turn system volume down
     
  6. Cleskers

    Cleskers Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ky
    Ratings:
    +0
    For one I like to know how my phone works and not use apps for everything.

    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  7. sam5828

    sam5828 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    because it does alot more than just that
     
  8. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. I bought root explorer and that worked perfectly.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App