1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Camera

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by jpatterson, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. jpatterson
    Offline

    jpatterson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to use my camera yesterday and it came up then went to a blank screen, went back to the home screen, said camera was unable to initialize. My phone is not rooted and I was wondering if anyone else was having this problem or knew how to fix it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  2. rentableisland1
    Offline

    rentableisland1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What you could try is applications>mange applications>and find camera and clear the data.

    Sent from my SCH-R760 using DroidForums
  3. jpatterson
    Offline

    jpatterson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gave this a try and it did not work.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  4. Jungle King 76
    Offline

    Jungle King 76 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Sometimes just rebooting the phone fixes these little quirks.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk
    1 person likes this.
  5. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When all else fails.... try to reboot.

    Volume down and power button until reboot (approx 10 seconds)
  6. jpatterson
    Offline

    jpatterson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rebooted and still no such luck.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  7. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using any 3rd party camera apps?

    Would hate to think about factory reset or hardware issue...
  8. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Have you tried starting it up in Safe Mode?
  9. rentableisland1
    Offline

    rentableisland1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you start your phone in safe mode?

    Sent from my SCH-R760 using DroidForums
  10. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Click on Safe Mode above. It's a how to link with pictures.
  11. jpatterson
    Offline

    jpatterson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I restarted in safe mode and its still not initializing.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  12. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    I would back up your data and do a factory reset. If that doesn't work, call Verizon. You might need a replacement.
  13. jpatterson
    Offline

    jpatterson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will give it a shot. Thank you everyone for your input.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  14. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    hopefully you had your issue resolved, i had a quick question , everytime i record or take a picture, the phone will be slow as far as showing me what im going to record /

    im not sure if thats clear but while trying to focus on somethingto take apicture it moves pretty slow and doesn keep up with me moving my phone around like when i first got it
  15. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Sounds like the camera is fried/ Hopefully your phone is still under warranty or you have the protection plan.
  16. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    A razr outside of the one year manufacturer warranty???? :) right...

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  17. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    LOL Good point. I am used to dishing advice on my old phone. :)
  18. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    In humility... :) we've all been there!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  19. jpatterson
    Offline

    jpatterson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is still under warranty and I will be requesting a replacement. I was hoping that I wouldn't have to but I do believe the camera is done for.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
Similar Threads
  1. imgrtful
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    752
  2. chili6301
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,093
  3. Camoxjeep
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,747
  4. nissanskyline
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    820
  5. Tas
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    506
Loading...
Search tags for this page
android camera failed to initialize
,
camera failed to initialize
,
camera is unable to initialize
,
camera is unable to initialize droid 4
,

camera is unable to initialize droid razr

,
camera is unable to initialize droid razr maxx
,
droid bionic camera failed to initialize
,

droid razr camera is unable to initialize

,

droid razr camera unable to initialize

,
droid razr m camera unable to initialize
,

droid razr maxx camera is unable to initialize

,

droid razr maxx camera unable to initialize

,
how to fix a unable camera on a phone
,
motorola razr m camera is unable to initialize
,
razr camera unable to initialize