1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Camera Problems

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ReadNotReed2007, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. ReadNotReed2007
    Offline

    ReadNotReed2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The other day I was takin pictures and it was workin fine. Then all of the sudden I took a picture, and it took like regular, but when it shifted it from the viewfinder window to the thumbnail in the upper right corner, it was just a black image. When you go to find the pic in the gallery its just a blank tile.

    Now when I take a picture it just takes like regular, but the camera freezes up with the picture still on the screen. Anyone know whats up?
  2. cromo8
    Offline

    cromo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you rooted?
  3. ReadNotReed2007
    Offline

    ReadNotReed2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not rooted
  4. lkariher
    Offline

    lkariher New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't know what to tell you, it sounds like a software failure, but if it's not then your in trouble. I'd try wiping the phone then see if it fixes it. If that is not a viable option for you can go to the Verizon store and request a new one, and wait one to four weeks for a new one. Good Luck!
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm rooted and run a FROYO 2.2 rom. My camera has settings on the right of the screen. When you tap a window opens and you can scroll. Check to see if you may have changed something. I'm not a big camera user so my suggestion may not provide the solution.

    Let us know how you resolve.

    Mike
  6. alwerner
    Offline

    alwerner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Camera and 2.2

    I'm having the same problem since upgrading to 2.2. The image file looks to save but saves it as a size of 0 bytes.
  7. agadabagada
    Offline

    agadabagada New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SAME THING IS HAPPENEING TO ME. i was in ceramics class today and wanted to take a pic of my masterpiece lol :B so i wiped out my moto droid 1 and snapped 3 pics. when i wanted to see them i clicked on the thumb tab on the top right to view it but it was black. just black.

    thought that was wierd so i went to the gallery and was like ok... all 3 pics were black too. then i went on and tested it again with 5!! more pics and same thing. surfed the web and pple were saying connect it to ur pc and see if it finds anything. soo i did taht and it found the pics, but they r blanks. 0 bytes... just a blank, not even black. i updated to 2.2 a week ago and havnt had to use the camera since so i think 2.2 ****ed me over. i would really like to get any advice on wat to do. im willing to return the phone but it is really inconvientent becuase i am in college and have no real transportation.

    help preeeze?
  8. alwerner
    Offline

    alwerner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From my experience, the camera problem was related to the first use of the camera after the 2.2 upgrade. After I had the camera problem, I restarted my phone and everything is working fine again.

    I also noticed that Google Goggles (which also uses the camera) was not working correctly until the restart.
  9. shenanigans_ink
    Offline

    shenanigans_ink New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this might explain why I have a folder in my gallery named data with a black photo in it. wondered where that came from.
  10. agadabagada
    Offline

    agadabagada New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    um, i want to say thanks but ive previously restarted my phone 2x due to pandora....so that wont fix it :\ thanks to


    errr wtf. droid has a mind of its own. i jsut went to test the camera again and it just worked...................................................................................

    even though my restarts were b4 the initial problems....
Search tags for this page
android camera 0 bytes
,
android camera 0bytes
,
android camera pictures 0 bytes
,
android phone keeps taking pictures with file size 0 bytes
,
android+camera+0 bytes
,
camera problmes motorola droid
,

droid 2 camera problems

,
droid camera problem partial picture
,
droid pictures zero bytes