Camera issues

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by arrndroid, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anything camera/camercorder related is not functional as of this morning. I have tried rebooting and a battery pull with no luck. I cannot open the camera half the time with the hardware button, it just vibrates and stays the same and the on screen goes black and crashes. My LED flashlight toggle will not; toggle... I have not installed any apps.. What the heck is going on? I am rooted on froyo overclocked to 1.26 with quickclock.
    Any help is appreciated thanks.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  2. Zog

    Zog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very odd. If a factory reset does not solve it, sbf.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  3. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was really hoping I wouldn't have to :/
    so wipe cache then data and recover to my backup? If fails SBF... sigh..

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. wildbill86

    wildbill86 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried simply resetting the cpu to factory speeds and voltage? Just curious, I had a lot of similar trouble trying to overclock my phone.

    Sent from my rooted D2G
     
  5. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just reset my cpu and voltage and rebooted. Nothing.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  6. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Loaded up bootloader to find my original backup malfunctioning.(MD5 error?) Made a new backup, wiped, no dice. Returned to this backup.
    When you press the app the screen goes black. The camera doesn't make any noise. It's hard to return to homescreen.

    Time to SBF? Not a newbie to it, I have succesfully done it to an original droid. Although I really do not enjoy the process.
    Any suggestions here guys? It did have a light drop recently, although I cannot recall if I used the camera. Besides it was off my bed, didn't even leave an indication of the short flight.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  7. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Update:
    Here are a list of things I have done. Got a few more before I call camera hardware issue.

    Reboot
    Battery pull
    Recovery
    Factory wipe via bootstrapper
    Wipe cache
    Wiped camera data specifically from app
    Unroot
    Unmounted sd card
    Formatted sd card
    Removed sd card
    SBF

    And now I am back to my backup before I started troubleshooting.

    Only thing left i'm going to try is a different sd card.

    What are your guys thoughts on this? Do I have any other options? I realised today my sd card is a class 2, don't I need a class 4?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
  8. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does anyone have any suggestions? I went to verizon and because it is older than 30 days, referbished, and received from a 3rd party. They can't do anything to help. If I got the parts will my droid accept them? (Had this problem with PS3s before, componates were married)
    I'm going to look for another droid with a mashed screen or something along those lines.

    Sent from my DROID2
     
  9. arrndroid

    arrndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    IT FRIGGEN WORKS! I have no idea how or why it has started working but I will take it!

    Sent From My Liberated DROID2
     
  10. tbradp

    tbradp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a thunderbolt and neither camera will work. When you open the app the camera icon comes up on screen for a sec then it goes back to home screen. Any suggestions?
    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
how open lg apex camera
,

lg apex camera problems