Camera is fuzzy and will not focus

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by RockHead_Droid, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. RockHead_Droid
    Offline

    RockHead_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rockledge Pa.
    I just got the bionic a few days ago and the camera sucks. It is all fuzzy and will not focus. I did do a search I did not find no posting about this issue.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  2. INCREMENTAL
    Offline

    INCREMENTAL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got mine days ago and mine is perfect. I'd maybe take yours back or something. I'm loving mine.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I haven't had a focusing problem with my Bionic. What is your Firmware? It should be at least 5.5.893.

    I suggest trying an camera app like Camera Zoom FX. It costs, but it's a good substitute.
  4. xPlatinum-Androidx
    Offline

    xPlatinum-Androidx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agree with above user. Camera Zoom FX has a Stable Shot Mode that would be perfect for your situation. Not too mention it takes full advantage of the 8MP camera.
  5. RockHead_Droid
    Offline

    RockHead_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rockledge Pa.
    I updated the firmware when i got the phone . I will look that app....

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  6. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,448
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Might also try cleaning the lens..
  7. RockHead_Droid
    Offline

    RockHead_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rockledge Pa.
    I got a new phone and the camera is working great. ....

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  8. brroid
    Offline

    brroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know of someone who forgot to take the protector plastic off the lens.......

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    I had that happen last Saturday, as a result, I am giving up Patron Silver on Fridays ;-)

    Seriously, mine works pretty good. I do use Camera Zoom FX.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  10. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Funny!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  11. hastrom
    Offline

    hastrom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is that way too. Very frustrating. I got it a few months ago and it is up-to-date. Whenever I get the subject in the frame, it focuses on the subject clearly, then when I click to capture the picture it refocuses and ends up blurry. Every time. Grrr!
  12. PhoebeAnn
    Offline

    PhoebeAnn Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Same problem with mine -- I just transferred 197 pictures to a PC and maybe 5 are usable -- just wretched focus. 2.3.4, System 5.9.905. Trying Camera Zoom, which fortuitously is on sale this week...
  13. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,479
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Strange... and you're stock? Is there anything in the camera lens?
  14. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Camera Zoom FX has been on sale for a while, but it's a good value.

    I went to Preview Night at ComicCon in San Diego without my camera. Using the Bionic was hit and miss in terms of focus. You can see one at Slave Leia | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
  15. PhoebeAnn
    Offline

    PhoebeAnn Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Absolutely stock, nothing visible in the lens to the nekkid eye, and it's clean. Every once in a while (about 2% of the time, it appears) a picture is in sharp focus, and when taking the picture the display generally looks good. I thought maybe I was moving the camera, or tapping the camera button shook it too much or something, but even pictures taken with the phone clamped to a stand are fuzzy. I should have some time to experiment with the Camera Zoom app tomorrow and will report back.
  16. puckalicious
    Offline

    puckalicious New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Great State of MI
    FWIW, the autofocus really sucked on my Bionic until I got on the ICS leak. Running 238 and camera is SO much better now, the focus and capture times are greatly reduced. Have not tried Camera Zoom FX.
  17. GAstorino
    Offline

    GAstorino Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I am not sure if using stock Camera but I use Camera Zoom and just great. Just make sure that focus is on Auto and not infinity. Also I notice that when you update Camera Zoom defaults back to Infinity which always seems to never focus. Auto is great though.
  18. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,479
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Try going into apps and clearing data and force closing the camera app. It may not help, but its worth a shot. :)
  19. PhoebeAnn
    Offline

    PhoebeAnn Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Don't know for sure, but I think it might have. So far, not having much luck with Camera Zoom FX either. Auto Focus doesn't seem to want to focus at any distance -- this may be a clue to my problem? Maybe I'll just wait for ICS and start over.
  20. GuiltyBreak
    Offline

    GuiltyBreak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    Sounds like hardware issue to me when camera only shoots blurry pics. My Droid2 has same issue stuck in macro mode..had to replace it under warranty.
Search tags for this page
android camera wont focus
,
droid charge camera blurry
,
droid dna camera blurry
,

droid x2 camera blurry

,
droid x2 camera will not focus
,
galaxy s3 camera will not focus
,

galaxy s3 camera won't focus

,
galaxy s3 wont focus
,
s3 camera won't focus
,
samsung galaxy s3 camera blurry
,
samsung galaxy s3 camera won't focus
,
samsung galaxy s3 camera wont focus