1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

camera cannot initialize??

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by jashea, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. jashea
    Offline

    jashea New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    60% of the time I go to use the camera to on RAZR M I get an error saying "camera is unable to initialize" ??

    Anyone have problems with this or have any ideas??
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Have you gone to settings and cleared the cache/data for the camera app?
  3. jashea
    Offline

    jashea New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I can't seem to find out how to do this. I can do it with other apps just not this one
  4. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Should be in settings- apps- all and scroll down to camera.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  5. jashea
    Offline

    jashea New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Cache is empty
  6. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are you rooted? What have you done since root if you did root.

    Any third part camera apps you have installed?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD
  7. Riley
    Offline

    Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I've had this happen a bunch since the JB update and I'm 100% stock. A reboot fixes it.
  8. jashea
    Offline

    jashea New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    No rooting done here. No 3rd party apps. It does work after I reboot ....so every time I want those my camera I need to reboot the phone???

    Should I just use a third party app instead??
  9. bigbadwulff
    Offline

    bigbadwulff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Oh great. This was a problem with the DroidX. I do not want this problem again! Have not had it happen to me though. Most likely it will happen with a 3rd party app to because it just accesses the phone's camera. If it were me, I'd take it back.
  10. sonik
    Offline

    sonik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine initializes, takes a few photos.. then black screen. Like it can't see?? Ugh.. yup. Reboot...
  11. shaislet
    Offline

    shaislet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same Problem Droid 4. Error message is "Camera is unable initialize". I'm avoiding the nasty likelihood of a factory reset. Rebooted, cleared partition cache as well. No luck.
  12. bigbadwulff
    Offline

    bigbadwulff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank God this has not been an issue for me so far. As I stated previously after the GB update on the Droid X it was a constant problem.
Search tags for this page
android camera unable to initialize
,
camera cannot initialize
,

camera is unable to initialize

,
camera is unable to initialize droid
,

camera is unable to initialize droid razr

,
camera unable to initialize droid 3
,
droid 3 camera is unable to initialize
,

droid 3 camera unable to initialize

,
droid bionic camera unable to initialize
,
droid camera cannot initialize
,
droid camera unable to initialize
,
droid razr m camera error
,

droid razr m camera unable to initialize

,

droid razr m camera wont initialize

,
why does my camera say unable to initialize