Camera broke

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by bmali22, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. 1tonyj

    1tonyj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same issue also. I had 1.9.0 Rubix, then applied the patch to go to .340 from this thread:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/drod2169-x/104626-patch-focused-1-9-0-update-2-3-340-a.html

    In the end, I guess I didn't read something important, or it just didn't take, but it didn't appear to update my kernel to 2.6.32.9-g55626e1. I'm assuming the ROM is built around this, but I could be wrong; hopefully someone can correct me if I am. I tried loading in a couple of the newest ROMs out there to test things out, like Fission, but they all had the broken camera too, which got me focusing on the path below.

    In the end, I just loaded up the SBF, which was quick and easy, then took the OTA .340 update from Verizon (through settings). After that, I loaded up 1.9.5 and everything was smooth as could be.

    I looked around for a while and didn't really find anything helpful to fix this. Hopefully this post can get you a resolution you're happy with. Good luck.
     
  2. bmali22

    bmali22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the stock rom the camera works... Rubix, gummyjar it don't work. I'm on the ota update. This is frustrating

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. Kuonji

    Kuonji New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The same thing happened to me. While installing the ROM, I wiped data, installed zip, then wiped cache.

    Camera didn't work.


    Then I did it again, but this time I wiped data, wiped cache, installed zip, then wiped cache again. Then Camera works fine.

    No idea why. Or if it was another thing that fixed it.
     
  4. digitalslacker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my camera works fine and i always wipe data then cache...
    i can't imagine why that would matter though but maybe?
     
  5. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    That patch ONLY updated Focused to work with the 2.3.340 kernel, it was NEVER meant to update your phone to 2.3.340 (Focused, nor that patch will touch your kernel/bootloader/baseband/etc.)

    The way to verify you are properly on 2.3.340, is by checking kernel version.
    If you go to about phone, and it says you have any kernel other than
    2.6.32.9-g55626e1

    Then you are NOT on 2.3.340.....
     
  6. bmali22

    bmali22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sephtin the kernel I'm on is the one you suggested... Should I try deleting wiping cache and data again to let you know what happens

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya, I would wipe cache/data, and then try reloading the ROM again... (in case mod/theme/??? something is causing it)...
     
  8. bmali22

    bmali22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now my stock rom camera don't work... It did yesterday I think the phone itself is jacked up. How can I unroot I used z4 to root

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you open z4, it should have the option to unroot.
    Removing root is basically just deleting 3 files.. and won't in any way affect your issue though):
    /system/bin/su (or /system/xbin/su)
    /system/xbin/busybox
    /system/app/Superuser.apk

    ....
    Before unrooting, make sure you try to wipe cache/data for the camera app:
    Menu> Settings> Applications> Manage Applications> all tab> camera
    force stop, clear cache, clear data...

    Any luck?
     
  10. bmali22

    bmali22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried clearing camera cache and still no luck... What are the exact things I need to type into terminal emulator to unroot

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    in Terminal:
    $ su
    # rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
    # rm /system/bin/su
    # rm /system/xbin/su
    # rm /system/xbin/busybox

    Should do it (don't type the $ or #, just put those there as example as prompts.

    Again, I can tell you that removing root will most certainly NOT do anything to correct this problem. The damage is done. At this point, the only thing removing those files will do, is make it harder to fix the problem if the solution were to require root. :p


    So.. what is it exactly that you'd like to accomplish by removing root?
     
  12. 1tonyj

    1tonyj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yea, I figured I didn't read something and jumped the gun when it wasn't working. At first read, I did think it was updating everything to .340. I figured if I misread it, there might be some others too. In the end, wasn't a big deal to get back on track with the SBF and take the OTA update.

    Thanks for the clarification.