Camera and Camcorder Not working Help Please!

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by 31 YNOT, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I try to use my camera of camcorder I just get a blank black screen, no images show up. I can record a video with no picture, but cannot take a picture at all. The phone is all stock, not rooted or anything, it is updated. I have tried restarting it. Tried turing it off taking the batter out putting it back in and restarting it with no luck. I don't have clue what is going on here is a picture I took with my webcam of the screen I get with the camera.

    [​IMG]
    It is all one color, the bottom half of the screen just has the reflection from the computer.

    Thanks
    -Matt
  2. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turn the phone off. While holding the Home key hold the power button. When the droid man icon appears, hit the search button(magnifying glass), use the volume buttons to scroll down to Wipe Cache Partition, use the camera button to select. When done choose reboot. See if this helps.
  3. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cleared the cache and it is still the same.

    Also I cannot zoom in or out with the camera I just get a gray bar, no red bar inside of it.
    Everything else seems to be working fine. Thanks for the quick response.
  4. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Goto settings>manage applications>All tab> scroll down to camera. Clear Data. Do the same for Camcorder and Gallery.
  5. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm. I cleared both the Camera and Gallery but there is nothing on my application list that says Camcorder?
    Still no luck with clearing just the camera and gallery
  6. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If that doesn't work I would backup your contacts and other info, then do a hard reset. If that doesn't work, phone is probably broken-time for replacement.

    Hard reset is same steps as wipe cache, except choose wipe user data.
  7. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I back up my contacts and other info? I'm sure its simple but I am kinda smart phone dumb. Would a broken camera be covered under insurance do you know?

    Edit: Im guessing go to backup assistant and click sync now?
  8. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, also go into contacts, menu, more, export to SD card.

    The camera is covered under warranty for 1 year. No need to pay deductible through insurance.
  9. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet so will a vzw store be able to get me a new one?
  10. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. And tell them you already did the master reset, etc. etc. Don't forget to take your SD card out cuz it has all your pics/info on it.
  11. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup its fubar. Thank you so much for all the help.

    -Matt
  12. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem. Make sure you test out the replacement phone before you leave the store. Camera, screen, etc. Also, the newer Droids come with only a 2gb memory card-so keep yours.
  13. 31 YNOT
    Offline

    31 YNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They didn't have one at the store, new one(well refurbished is all they offer) should be here tomorrow
Search tags for this page
camcorder button gray s4
,
camcorder on my phone doesnt work. what do i do?
,
camcorder on phone is not working
,
camera and camcorder apps on droid stopped working
,
camera camcorder and video not working on my phone
,

droid 3 camcorder black screen

,
droid camcorder screen black
,

droid razr m rear camera not working

,

droid x2 camera has black screen can not take pictures

,

my camcorder screen is black

,

my camera/ camcorder on my droid wont work

,
why my camera and camcord is not working on my phone