Camera - Advertised 1080p but only 720p in the video

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Dallasguy7, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Maybe try clearing the Camera app's data via settings > applications. You'll probably have to reset all of your settings. If that doesn't work...factory reset maybe.
     
  2. asdfbrendan

    asdfbrendan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good suggestion, I hadn't thought of that. Unfortunately, that didn't work either. I'm hoping there's a solution aside from a factory reset. The only other thing I can think to try is formatting the SD card. I simply pulled the old one out of my original Droid a few days ago when I got my phone. I didn't format the SD card or anything...
     
  3. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Have you tried taking out the SD card and seeing if you have the setting?
     
  4. asdfbrendan

    asdfbrendan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just tried that and it didn't work. I also tried another 1GB SD card I had. I formatted it, but I still dont have the 1080p option.
     
  5. asdfbrendan

    asdfbrendan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm currently speaking w/ Motorola support. I'll see if they can shed any light on the issue. I'll be sure to post w/ an update...
     
  6. asdfbrendan

    asdfbrendan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    My initial chat w/ the Motorola representative wasn't terribly helpful. According to his documentation, the max resolution is 720p, so I had to point out the 1080p on Motorola's own website as well as the fact that it says it on the phone itself. He said the issue would be forwarded to engineering and they will contact me via email. Will update later.
     
  7. asdfbrendan

    asdfbrendan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    SOLVED!

    Well, sort of. I found out the reason the 1080p option isn't available. I use my phone for corporate email. One of the settings the Exchange server enforces is storage device encryption. As a result of said encryption, the phone is only able to record up to 720p. After performing a factory reset and walking through the setup again, I noticed a warning this time around about HD video when encryption was enabled. Since I need my phone for work related email, and encryption is required, I'll just have to settle for 720p.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. driodwho

    driodwho New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem 1080 no show

    I got to the point of went to return it at the store, but the sales person scrolled up and down and got the HD option, even though I did the same thing so many times it did not show, with or without the sd card. I came home with it since it then showed the HD options. A couple of days later. It happened again, my HD options would not show no matter what. And my camera froze my phone twice already the less than a week I had it. I had to remove the battery and start the phone again each time. I am seriously unhappy with the camera on this phone! I also have the bluish tint on the pictures taken, we took a picture of the Verizon red wall at the store and it came out reddish purple, and the shutter delay was so long it was a joke! I could never get a picture the way I wanted it. MY old dumb LG phone was low res,, but was fast, the color was right and it never gave me any problems. I am going to return this one and hope for a better replacement.

    Or if anyone knows a Driod phone that has a good camera please let me know. I am seriously unhappy with Motorola Android 3's camera!!!
     
  9. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't know. When I got the phone I saw the 1080p HD on the camera lens and I wanted to test it. To my dismay at the time, all that I saw was 720p in settings. I immediately scratched Motorola off my list for future phones as I'm coming from an HTC EVO Shift 4G on Sprint that unhonestly displays a 3G icon for both 3G and 1X and that's the reason that I moved on to Motorola. Then as I was playing with the camera in camera settings, I accidentally swiped my finger downward and saw the 1080p button. One couldn't see it and would have no way of knowing it was there unless they were informed that it was there or were an Android expert.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. ssav999

    ssav999 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank You!

    I've spent the last 2 hours trying to figure out why I had the same problem. After unencryption, 1080p became possible. Thank you so much!! :)
     
Search tags for this page
1080p video droid x
,
android+camera 1080p和720p
,
android+camera+720p 和1080p
,
droid 3 only 720p video
,
droid x 1080p
,

droid x2 1080p

,

droid x2 1080p recording

,
droid x2, 1080p
,

how to recordd 1080p on droid 3

,
motorola camera problem1080