Cached maps

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by 82DMC12, Jul 15, 2013.

  1. 82DMC12

    82DMC12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi everyone,

    I have a Droid Razr Maxx HD. Prior to this, I had a Droid Bionic which I used in UK, France, and Italy without data and with cached maps to keep my location - it worked great.

    Now the Maxx HD... A month ago I was in London and Rugby, UK. Anticipating a lack of data services, prior to leaving the US I make sure to cache the maps for the areas I was travelling in, so I could rely on the GPS signal and the cached maps to find out where I am.

    Unfortunately, on my arrival, it didn't work that way at all. I just had a blue arrow but none of the map lines would draw in. Totally worthless. It's like it wasn't calling up the cached maps and it kept trying to search for data to get the maps. I ended up calling VZW and getting a global data plan for the 3 days I was there.

    Next week I am headed to Abu Dhabi and Dubai where VZW has no global data plan available. I want to use the cached maps but I'm afraid it won't work again.

    Anyone have any tips or instructions?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    I think I remember seeing something where Google took out the caching ability in an update, but the uproar it caused has made them rethink that and they plan on adding it back but you may be caught in the middle. There are some paid apps that would have worked with just the GPS. (just an fyi)
     
  3. 82DMC12

    82DMC12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Ratings:
    +2
    Any particular apps you can recommend? I want to download them before being stuck in the desert!
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    The best one, imo is Sygic. I would provide a link but at the moment the Store seems to be having a problem.
     
  5. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    It's actually still there, but it's far from obvious. What you have to do is pan out so that the entire map area that you want to cache is on-screen, type "OK Maps" into the search box, and then hit enter. It will then save the map for offline use.

    They're going to make it more direct in a future update.
     
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Tried it, but instead of saving anything, it took me to Oklahoma! What did I do wrong?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    It works just fine for me on the latest version of Maps. I just pulled up the map I wanted, typed in "OK Maps" (without the quotation marks, but keeping the uppercase/lowercase letters as shown), hit enter (or with SwiftKey, the magnifying glass since it's a search bar), and it automatically started caching the on-screen map area. I just double-checked again, and it worked just fine using those steps.

    Here's a story over on Droid-Life about it - FYI: Offline Maps Saved by Typing "OK Maps" in Google Maps, Latitude Retires August 9
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Well, instead, I hit the menu button ABD "make available offline" was a selection. I hit it, and a large box showing a highlighted area appeared, along with cancel or done buttons. I zoomed in too the area and hit fine. It cached the map fine. :D

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
    #8 FoxKat, Jul 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2013
  9. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    It sounds like your version of Maps isn't up-to-date. That option isn't there in the latest version (7.0.1), but it was in previous versions (and will evidently be coming back in a future update).
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Apparently you're right...

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    Yeah, the new version started rolling out last week. Perhaps it hasn't made its way around to everyone yet. It's the new overhaul they showed off at I/O.

    [​IMG]
     
    #11 bsweetness, Jul 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2013
  12. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Your right. I checked and I'm still up to date. I've UN-checked the auto-update. If the update removes features I'll bypass.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

samsung galaxy stratosphere ii google maps cache maps