Buying a phone at Best Buy vs Verizon Store

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by ScarletBuckeye, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. envirosciguy

    envirosciguy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same question: At BB, on a family plan, can you use the available upgrade on the phone of another family member?
     
  2. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump.

    I would also like to know this. My wifes line has an upgrade available as I recently used the one on my line to get her a Droid X (which I did at a Verizon store). Can BB use the upgrade on her line for a phone to be used on mine?
     
  3. v4npro

    v4npro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, me too would like to know. :)
     
  4. envirosciguy

    envirosciguy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just called Best Buy in Oxnard, CA and they said they can do it as long as you're the authorized user of the account. So I may be heading over after work to put in my pre order.
     
  5. v4npro

    v4npro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    So can all this be done in BB:

    Use line 1 upgrade for line 2.
    Then give line 1 my DX(line 1 currently doesn't have data so it would need to be added).

    Would that be ok? Does having a ROM installed the DX have any complications on activating it on a different line?
     
    #65 v4npro, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  6. JFMFT

    JFMFT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Eastern Coastal North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes they can activate the TB on your line.

    Yes they can activate the Dx on another line which will require that you add a data package for that line.

    Doesn't matter to them or anyone if you're using a custom ROM. Only if you're warrantying the phone out.

    You're good to go!
     
  7. JFMFT

    JFMFT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Eastern Coastal North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes, they can do this for you.
     
  8. v4npro

    v4npro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks! Looking forward using the TB.. hopefully it's next week, my pay day!
     
Search tags for this page

best buy vs verizon store

,
buying a cell phone at best buy vs verizon
,

buying a phone from best buy vs verizon

,
buying from best buy vs verizon
,
buying phone from best buy vs verizon store
,
buying phone from best buy vs. verizon store
,
buying phones at best buy vs verizon
,

verizon store vs best buy

,
verizon vs best buy for cell phone
,
what is the difference between buying a phone from best buy