busybox install help plz

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tdawg5480, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. tdawg5480

    tdawg5480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    One might say if you dont know what your doing dont do it but im learning more and more linux by the day so to widen my droids reach I installed busybox however i read on some apps in market says busybox needs to be installed in system/bin or system/xbin I used a tutorial that put it in /data/busybox does it matter where its installed? i used this tut
    Re:Got root? Need more? Install Busybox! - AndroidFanatic Community Forums should i just redo it for system/bin? i know it works because some new commands work when i use better terminal emulator......advice is appreciated THKS
     
  2. lvlln

    lvlln Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like some help, too. I can install BusyBox fine and use all its tools, but I have to type in

    export PATH=/data/busybox:$PATH

    each and every time I open a shell in order to use the BusyBox commands. Either that or manually call the command by giving its full path (e.g. /data/busybox/ls) How can I permanently add /data/busybox to the PATH variable?

    Also, BusyBox's ls command outputs are a little hard to read due to having no space before the name of each file/folder. Is there a tag to make it more human-readable? I couldn't find anything in the documentation.
     
  3. cellulararrest

    cellulararrest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you don't want to type the path to busybox everytime you want to run it... Just move it to /system/bin and chmod to 755 (probably don't even need 755 since you're root, but that's easy enough).
     
  4. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can also put busybin in /system/xbin (which you have to create the xbin directory since the xbin directory does not exist by default).

    /system/xbin is in the default path.

    Most tutuorials then tell you that you can use busybox like this (This is an example of using the busybox cp command):


    Code:
    busybox cp <source> <destination>
    .
    However if you want to do away with the busybox prefix, while in the /system/xbin directory you can do the following:


    Code:
    busybox --install <install_destination_directory>
    .
    So if in the /system/xbin directory this would be:

    Code:
    busybox --install .
    .
    If outside the /system/xbin directory you would have to specify the install directory.

    So the entire code would be the following:
    Code:
    $ su
    # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    # mkdir /system/xbin
    # cd /system/xbin
    # cat /sdcard/busybox > busybox
    # chmod 755 busybox
    busybox --install .
    # mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    # exit
    $ busybox
    BusyBox v1.15.2 (2009-12-02 21:29:32 EST) multi-call binary
    Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Erik Andersen, Rob Landley, Denys Vlasenko
    and others. Licensed under GPLv2.
    See source distribution for full notice.
    
    .
    So the net result of doing all of this is that referring to the first example, all you would have to do to use the busybox cp command would be the following:
    Code:
    cp <source> <destination>
     
  5. dustin4863

    dustin4863 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lbk tx
    Ratings:
    +0
    every time i go to my command prompt to access the adb i get
    "The system cannot find the path specified." or
    "The name specified is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

    but its not only for the adb i cant access ipconfig,defrag or ping what is the deal here has anyone seen this
     
  6. tdawg5480

    tdawg5480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    im following kevdogs post there but i get invalid cross device link when i get to the install part
     
  7. lvlln

    lvlln Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see, thank you, that works. Now, I'd like to have it so that I don't have to type in "busybox" every time, but I'm also worried about cluttering up xbin with all of busybox's commands. Is there a way to change the name of the busybox command to something shorter, like "bb?" Copying busybox to bb didn't seem to work.

     
  8. lvlln

    lvlln Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem here. I can install busybox fine in /data/busybox, but not in /system/xbin.
     
  9. tdawg5480

    tdawg5480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    follow this http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...covery-framework-res-apk-custom-boot-ani.html busybox works without a glitch seems to me im a newb and from reading theres diff ways to install apps and this works great if u need latest binary ver 1.15.3 lemme know i tried busybox sie and i get tarball files dunno how to install them dont wanna try as method of busybox i had was a single file and not a zip.tar.gz thing
     
  10. mikedageek

    mikedageek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. tdawg5480

    tdawg5480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow thanks but that confuses the bejesus out of me think im stepping out of bounds I am however in search of linux commands cheat sheet like ls cp mount etc all the basics and busyboxs as well. im a linux newb and trying to learn and train myself like i did with windows since a kid back in 3.11 lol to start i added linuz to my ps3 and my laptop and force myself to use it to learn any help is appreciated
     
  12. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you running the busybox install . command from the abd shell or from the device itself from a terminal emulator?
     
  13. mikedageek

    mikedageek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you edit your .profile config in your HOME directory you can add that directory into your path permanently ...
     
  14. lvlln

    lvlln Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, but I can't seem to find this .profile file. By HOME directory, you mean the one you enter into when using adb, right? The one with the sdcard, system, root directories? Could I create one manually?
     
  15. phone

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This doesn't work, HOME isn't set in the Android environment. I tried doing this the other day when I was messing around. PATH is actually set in /init.rc. You can edit /init.rc but the changes don't stick after a reboot. I suspect it's flashed onto the ROM. This is the first time I've played with a phone. :)

    If you want busybox in your path, I'd stick it in /system/xbin. There's nothing there, you have to create it, and it's already in the PATH.
     
Search tags for this page
busybin path.apk
,
busybox custom path
,
busybox custom path install
,
busybox install location
,
busybox installer help
,

busybox invalid cross-device link

,
do i install busybox in the bin folder
,
how to install busybox
,
install location for busybox
,

where to install busybox xbin or bin