busybox commands only working in recovery.....

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by blake, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i have bugless beast 7.5 and my problem is any time i try to execute a busybox command i get "busybox: permission denied" But if i reboot in to recovery then use a busybox command i have no problems, anyone know why i have this problem?
     
  2. hacksaw

    hacksaw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you switching to super user before issuing the command?

    Try su.
     
  3. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't believe that is my problem, there is a # sign before the command
     
  4. sorrule

    sorrule New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem. I used the Droid Root Helper App from the market to install Busy Box. I recently tried to install the smoked glass Pandora.apk and i got the same busybox error. I've also tried it using ADB with a different modification and got the same error. I'm running on BB 7.5. I followed the commands to the T and I do remember entering the su command before anything else. Any one with an answer?
     
  5. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what our problem is but if u boot into recovery and mount from the recovery options then u can run busybox commands, that's my only way its worked so far, just so you know
     
  6. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    First of, your doing this through ADB? If so you are typing adb shell, correct? You then have to type su, mount the system, then do busybox command.
     
  7. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did all that, its the only problem ive had at all with terminal
     
  8. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Terminal? Are you doing this straight on the droid or through your computer (ADB)?
     
  9. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    computer...............
     
  10. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    can you give the exact process (step by step) that you are using.
     
  11. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the strange thing is i downloaded fontflasher an app which runs busybox to install new fonts, the app didnt work for me because my busybox dosent work when the phone is on, i had to boot my phone in to recovery then run the commands myself instead of using the app
     
  12. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sounds to me like busybox wasn't installed correctly or in the correct dir. What thread did you follow to install busybox?
     
  13. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i connect the phone i type:
    adb shell
    dameon starting etc etc etc
    mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    busybox cp -R /sdcard/framework-res.apk /system/framework
     
  14. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    your mount command is off to me

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
     
  15. blake

    blake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm im going home in a few minutes i will try that when i get home
     
Search tags for this page
android boot in recovery only from busybox commands
,

busybox commands

,
busybox permission denied
,
recovery install busybox
,
run busybox on android recovery