1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Bugless 6.x.x Overclock | Select Own Voltage/Slots

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by prime, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Please visit the following droidforums link to better understand what this and why you want to use it.

    Basically it allows you to overclock/undervolt the current Bugless Beast kernel, no need to flash/re-flash one kernel after another to find that sweet spot. You can change the slot and vsel values to suit your device (anywhere from 100mhz to 1300mhz).

    (Milestone Overclock Tutorial)


    Please read the script as it contains all details.

    You need to first download and install Milestone Overclock that I modified:

    *Current Release*
    (MilestoneOverclock 1.4.7 prime_bugless)

    Next save the script below as 05overclock or download zip from link, then unzip and execute script in a terminal as superuser (root).

    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    # overclock bugless beast 0.6.x.x by prime
    #
    # Simple script that loads the modified overclock module 
    # and inserts proper values needed for the module to function
    # please adjust vsel and speeds to suit your device. The script
    # can sleep for 60 seconds before running, if you have any problems
    # with the script not being ran upon boot uncomment the sleep line.
    #
    # You can run this manually by terminal with (su then sh 05overclock).
    # 
    # Read the forum thread to know where to place this 05overclock
    # file for autostart as this can be unsafe if your vsel values are too high/low.
    #
    # Milestone Overclock Tutorial Thread: http://bit.ly/hEfz7P
    #
    # You can usually talk with me on twitter if you have a question.
    # 
    # prime ( @f1vefour )
    #
    #(begin overclock script)
    
    MODDIR=/data/data/pt.com.darksun.milestoneoverclock/files/
    MODULE=overclock.ko
    
    cd $MODDIR
    insmod $MODULE
    
    echo 0xc003e094 > /proc/overclock/omap2_clk_init_cpufreq_table_addr
    echo 0xc053e544 > /proc/overclock/cpufreq_stats_table_addr
    echo 0xc054a8e4 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps_addr
    
    echo "6 200000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo "1 200000000 29" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    
    echo "5 350000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo "2 350000000 34" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    
    echo "4 450000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo "3 450000000 39" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    
    echo "3 600000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo "4 600000000 45" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    
    echo "2 700000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo "5 700000000 55" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    
    echo "1 800000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo "6 800000000 60" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    
    echo "65" > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    echo "900000" > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    #(end overclock script)
    
    Here is the script:
    (05overclock.zip.)

    If you previously changed kernels you can find the slayher 800mhz kernel bugless beast is using here:
    (Slayher v1.6 800mhz Kernel)

    Here is the fix HarvesterX is referring to (only use this if having mentioned issue): (slayher wifi fix).
  2. J*Bishop
    Offline

    J*Bishop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok in laymans terms. what does this do? i'm pretty lazy to read all that in the link you posted.
  3. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    You can lower the voltage of the stock bugless 0.6.x kernel (increase battery life while lowering heat), or overclock it above 800mhz on the fly through scripting.

    Basically it allows the kernel to behave as if it was custom made for your particular device once you find the lowest stable voltage per cpu slot.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  4. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Prime, thanks for compiling this. I was just reading up on what I needed to change in order to do just this. I have to admit though, I am really digging the kernel jamezelle just built with the smartass governor.
  5. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    I need some feedback to make certain this is working for others.

    This is for Droid 1 users running bugless beast 0.6.x.

    Could someone install the bugless MSOC (Milestone Overclock), select load module, change the speed to 1000 or so and hit apply. This is enough for me to know MSOC is functional for everyone.
    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  6. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    You would need to be running the stock bugless|slayher kernel.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  7. digriz60
    Offline

    digriz60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried running the script and received the error: insmod: init_module 'overclock.ko' failed (File exists)
  8. thepolishguy
    Offline

    thepolishguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my D1 (have a DX) and was reading up on this. I was actually going to install the CM kernal and CMmilestone.apk so I could do this.

    The milestone overclock project was the only way to OC the DX. Only problem I am having now is that I flashed a chevy kernel (very good btw) so I need to find the original BB kernel. maybe you could link to it in the op. I will test if/when I can find the kernel.

    thanks.
  9. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I'll test it out some for ya. Isn't the stock kernel for BB a 800MHz v1.6 Slayher kernel? That would he easier than flashing the ROM again since I have a bunch I've made in /system. That's why I liked flashing Nandroids back in the day. I could just restore the boot partiton. Guess I could strip it out of the ROM as well.
    I have to take.my finance to the hospital today at 1:30 so that should give me.some time to play while I wait.
  10. digriz60
    Offline

    digriz60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I see what I did wrong, I had loaded the module within Milestone. It looks like it's working with my Droid 1. I ran the script successfully and set it to 1000MHz. So far so good!
  11. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    I am unsure if Pete used that particular kernel or compiled his own from a slayher git...it should work with the 1.6 slayher.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  12. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Awesome. I'll try that firt and if it doesn't work I'll just open up the zip on the laptopand delete everything in there but the kernel and kernel files.
  13. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Let me know if the 1.6 slayher works and I will update the OP to include a link.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  14. thefever
    Offline

    thefever New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not quite following... where does the 05overclock file need to be? system/bin?
  15. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Once you know what speeds/slots work for your device the script needs to be placed in /system/etc/init.d and it will be ran automatically upon boot.

    Code:
    su
    sys -rw
    cp /path/to/05overclock /system/etc/init.d
    sys -ro
    
    Reboot and check SetCPU for confirmation, you may need to move the cpu speed slider for the slots to be known to SetCPU.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  16. thefever
    Offline

    thefever New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, thanks for the help. Working now.
  17. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Yeah prime, the stock Slayher 1.6 kernel works fine with this.
  18. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks....OP updated.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  19. thepolishguy
    Offline

    thepolishguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok - what about before we know the stable slots. Where do we place the file for testing? system/bin? or we can execute it from the sd card? sorry - not real great at this.
  20. DHO
    Offline

    DHO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NOLA
    Tag, i will try this later
Search tags for this page

bugless 6