Browsing internet while in a call? Possible?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jea2004, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. jea2004

    jea2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, contentious. I did respond several times on page one of this post to those who had offered replies to help me out. My apologies if my schedule precludes me from checking this thread until now. And I opted not to subscribe via email.

    And I do understand what you are saying in general, though not in particulars. But that is of little consequence; I trust that you are correct.

    So, thank you.
     
  2. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    For those unfamiliar with the differences between CDMA (VZW and Sprint) and GSM (almost everyone else in the world outside of the US and Iraq) technology, the following may help...

    "...Another difference between GSM and CDMA is in the data transfer methods. GSM’s high-speed wireless data technology, GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), usually offers a slower data bandwidth for wireless data connection than CDMA’s high-speed technology (1xRTT, short for single carrier radio transmission technology), which has the capability of providing ISDN (Integrated Services Digital Network)-like speeds of as much as 144Kbps (kilobits per second). However, 1xRTT requires a dedicated connection to the network for use, whereas GPRS sends in packets, which means that data calls made on a GSM handset don’t block out voice calls like they do on CDMA phones..."

    CDMA vs GSM - Difference and Comparison | Diffen

    Translation: CDMA is potentially faster by "streaming" data on a dedicated channel; GSM is more flexible because voice and data can coexist on a channel since the messages are broken up into indvidual "packets" that are reassembled when they reach their destination.
     
  3. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,624
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yep -- Remember all those annoying AT&T commercials with Luke Wilson, bragging about how he can Google answers for his friend's game show while talking to him?



    That's IF he can get a cell signal.
     
  4. FarkinDroidUser

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The workaround is making calls with Skype then its all data.
    Motorola Droid + Verizon + Skype = WIN WIN WIN:icon_ banana:
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Looks like more than 2 countries use CDMA...

    CDG : Worldwide : Worldwide
     
  6. arcsum68

    arcsum68 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think he was trying to be contentious, just getting irritated. This question was answered 9x in this thread, more specifically it was answered VERY clearly in the 2nd response. I am quite honestly surprised that the post went on that long before you were flamed, very impressive and tolerable IMO.
     
  7. texasPI

    texasPI Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude, this question has been asked several times. I don't know why you claim to have never seen it pop up...

    (I know, I'm a little late to the party...:palm:)
     
  8. jea2004

    jea2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably bc Ive never seen it pop up...that's why I make that claim. Seriously, why would I ask it if I already knew the answer?

    My thanks for those who answered. And for those who persisted and offered further clarity beyond the second response (wink).
     
  9. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you! I always feel like I am the only one who knows CDMA is in so many countries. It's not like this is some obscure technology. Go to Japan, the other country (besides US) which leads the globe in technology, they have CDMA all over the place too.

    When companies were choosing what to use for their backbone, no one foresaw people using Droids and iPhones and using GBs and GBs of data per month per device. CDMA is and was a viable standard. I live in Chicago, AT&T and T-Mo cannot get a signal into the lower portion of my house (basement and first floor) while Verizon and Sprint can. Their towers are all in the same basic spot, so you tell me, is GSM always better?
     
  10. luweegy

    luweegy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    GJ Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I get wifi to work.It won't connect and I've got wifi in my house?
     
  11. Lavranos

    Lavranos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Without knowing the particulars of your setup it's hard to say. I can however give you some things to check. I'm going to go with a beginner's approach, so please forgive me if this sounds like I'm talking down to you.

    1. Is your router MAC address filtered. In this case, you need to add your Droid's MAC address to the allowed list. You can find this under "About Phone > Status" Once that's done, just choose your network and you're all set.

    2. More likely, your router is password protected. In this case, when you turn the wifi on on the Droid, you'll have to select your network from the list and add the password.

    3. Do you have a custom ROM on your phone. More specifically, have you overclocked it? There are some Kernals out there that will inadvertently disable wifi. Do a search if this is the case, it's a very easy fix.

    Those are the general fixes. Again, without specifics of your set-up that's all I can offer you. Hope that helps!
     
Search tags for this page
how to on internet while on phone call android
,

how to use internet during call

,
how to use internet while on call
,
how to use net during call
,
internet during call
,
is it possible to use internet while calling
,
use internet during call
,
use internet while on call
,
verizon internet during phone call
,
verizon phone call and internet