Browsers closing

Discussion in 'Koush' started by ForeverInOur, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. ForeverInOur

    ForeverInOur Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im running cm6. ive had this rom for awhile. so i cant remember if its happened with other roms. all of my browers randomly close..skyfire, dolphin, etc. i know it happens somtimes when visiting a site with flash. ill just be lookin at a site and it closes. no FCs or any pop ups. any ideers?
     
  2. bucket truck

    bucket truck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What kernel are you running?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. ForeverInOur

    ForeverInOur Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    p3kernel. 125 - 1.25ghz
     
  4. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Lower your OC speeds, this is widely known issue in Froyo. Too high of an OC produces FC from the browser.
     
  5. ForeverInOur

    ForeverInOur Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah figures. Thanks. So what's the recommended speed. 1ghz?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    800Mhz-1Ghz should be fine.
     
  7. papy72

    papy72 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This has been happening to me a LOT lately. I'm running the "stock" 800 mhz kernel that came with CM6.

    Anyone have a suggestion for an alternate?
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Make sure you have enough free RAM that FroYo doesn't kill it. I'm NOT advocating a "keep X MB RAM free at all times" script (it's garbage and hurts your Droid's performance, believe it or not) or a task killer -- just reboot your phone every day or so.

    Also, some pages don't work so well with the browsers in Android. You could try the about:debug trick and set it to desktop/iPhone/Android to see if one of those works better.
     
  9. papy72

    papy72 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I thought the problem was. I only have about 40m free at any given time, and I think that's the magic number that makes android start killing stuff - like my browser.

    Even worse, from what I've seen there isn't exactly much I can do about the memory size. I have a lot of apps that I need that run services, and that's eating up a lot of RAM (I think).
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +172
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    There isn't, really. When I check my running apps under the built-in app manager I often have like 20MB of RAM left. When I notice I have over a hundred in the red and nothing I can do about it I reboot. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be anything else to do, but a reboot takes like two minutes and I'm back up and running.
     
  11. ForeverInOur

    ForeverInOur Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have about 14mb left.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk