Browser won't start on blank page

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dbronstein, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a Moto Droid. Now that I have Froyo, the web browser always starts on Goggle even though I set the home page to about:blank. Even after I kill the browser with a task killer, it opens on the Google search page. How do I get it to start with a blank page?
     
  2. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed this too. You used to be able to set the page to nothing. A workaround is to find a blink web page and set it to that.

    Anyway, I like Dolphin HD because it has tabs and let's you keep the user agent set to desktop/computer so you can see non-mobile sites.
     
  3. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use XScope a lot because of the ability to set the user agent, but I like the stock browser as well. This just feels like something Apple would do, forcing you to their site like this.
     
  4. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, it's a sleazy change.

    Have you tried Dolphin HD? That's my go to browser. I keep trying xScope but I have a few problems with it:
    -scrolling kinda lags/shaky when I open up tabs and have them load in the background while I surf the initial page
    -why in the heck is there no "http://" in the address bar?
     
  5. tehpriest

    tehpriest Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried it. Love it. It i just so fast :-O
     
  6. peertje888

    peertje888 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try about:blanc ... this worked for me with the default browser shipped with android 2.3 on my Galaxy S
     
Search tags for this page
about:blank page android
,

android browser blank home page

,

android browser blank page

,
android browser start on blank page
,
blank page android browser
,
dolphin browser start page
,
dolphin browser wont load blank pages
,
set android browser homepage to blank
,
set blank homepage android
,
startpage adress bar dolphin