Browser Settings

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by mike dx, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. mike dx

    mike dx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My website settings pick is greyed out and hence cannot open to see what's there. Its the one you pick from the browser: menu key, Settings, scroll down to advanced settings, website settings is the first pick.

    Was told I could prevent the browser from using/ opening/ reverting to mobile sites there.... would stay on the main http site.

    Any help appreciated.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. michael101108

    michael101108 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm. same here. never noticed it before i installed gb. are you stock 2.2.1 or what?
     
  3. gflam

    gflam Developer
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +24
    Try using a different browser like dolphin browser that browser allows u to view pages as if u were on a desktop an android phone an iphone and a few others i keep mine set to desktop and it has a lot of other great features so i recommend u give dolphin browser a look

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. mike dx

    mike dx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totally stock...only 2 months old. Just started doing this. Have not added any apps, etc. frustrating.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. grace1169

    grace1169 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    california
    Ratings:
    +0

    You mean that Dolphin Browser can install on iphone. As far, I just heard that Dolphin Browser for Android. Anyway Dolphin Browser is good and provide features to allow you to view page as on a desktop.:icon_ banana:
     
  6. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    What he meant was that it acts as though you are on an iPhone or desktop. The website identifies your phone as whatever you select, so if you don't want to go to the mobile site every time you go online, you can select desktop. Or if you want to see the iPhone version of mobile sites you can do that. Alot of websites support different mobile versions for each.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  7. mike dx

    mike dx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still looking for a solution. Wifes dc has the pick available.....bought the same time as mine.

    I did get dolphin mini and works well. Would like to solve the issue with the stock browser, though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. grace1169

    grace1169 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    california
    Ratings:
    +0

    Got it. Thanks. Just as you said, i tried in several websites. there are different mobile version--Android Desktop iphone and ipad. It need to be set. I am wondering it is true that many website and browser just set Android as default?
     
  9. grace1169

    grace1169 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since you can work well with Dolphin Browser Mini, why are you so insist on stock browser?
     
  10. Irgig

    Irgig New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the browser url put in "about:debug" without the quotes. Then go to your settings.under the advanced section you should see a bunch of new settings. The bottom option allows you to set the browser to a desktop only mode plus one or two more if my memory is correct.
     
  11. Irgig

    Irgig New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    UAString is the option you are looking for. You can set it ti the different options. Android, desktop, or Iphone. Just went and checked out.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  12. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, they are always set for Android as default.
    Not sure on this, though I think Opera is an exception. I think they condense a site into their own mobile version before it is delivered to your device. That is what they say it does, anyway. Nonetheless, I don't like Opera because its ugly and not to functional.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

advanced settings for individual websites

,
advanced settings for individual websites android
,
android advanced settings for individual websites
,
android browser advanced settings for individual websites
,
android browser settings advanced
,
browser settings android
,
dolphin browser website settings
,

website settings android

,
website settings greyed out
,
where is browser settings on android