browser question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hollowbox, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. hollowbox

    hollowbox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any way to set the browser to only bring up full sites and not the mobile ones. Seems like if I hit espn or other sites I always get the mobile site and have to take extra steps to get to the full site.....and in some cases like sportsline it always redirects me to mobile. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
     
  2. kaboyd

    kaboyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you change the "user agent" setting to to desktop it will bring up full sites.
     
  3. hollowbox

    hollowbox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    In which settings would I find user agent?
     
  4. kaboyd

    kaboyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are using the stock browser hit the menu key on your phone. Select "More" on the bottom right corner and then select "settings". If you are running Dolphin Browser hit the menu key and select settings.
     
  5. hollowbox

    hollowbox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been in the browsers settings page and I don't see anything for user agent. I'm sure its pure idiocy that's blinding me but I'm not seeing a user agent setting.
     
  6. kaboyd

    kaboyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are using the stock browser it is the fifth option in the settings list.
    text size
    default zoom
    show visual zoom control
    full screen
    user agent
    ect...
     
  7. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think user agent only appears in the default browser after you navigate to about:debug

    Also, I think it resets if the browser is restarted. Use dolphin instead.
     
  8. hollowbox

    hollowbox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using droid mod and I believe that gives me the milestone browser. I just don't see a user agent option. Maybe its time for dolphin.
     
  9. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dolphin has some frustrating quirks that are annoying when u r just starting, but I feel it is the current champ. Dolphin hint #1: doubletap an area where there are no links to hide/show tab bar.

    Xscope-used to be good but has gotten slow, rendering bugs too
    Steel-no zoom? Not stable enogh?
    Stock-no tabs, user agent setting stickiness
    Opera-in beta but is super fast and allows uploads like when a web page asks you to upload a profile pic or other file
     
  10. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can bookmark a URL to a full site I'd recommend trying that. Setting the user agent will also do the trick.
     
Search tags for this page
android agent name
,
change agent name from android to desktop
,
change the “agent name” from android
,

change the “agent name” from android to desktop

,
change the agent name from android to desktop in dolphin
,
changing agent name on android
,
how to change agent name android
,

how to change agent name from android to desktop

,
how to change agent name on android
,
how to change agent name on android browser desktop