browser frozen - freezing

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mikeatdroidforums, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. mikeatdroidforums

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,

    I didn't see anything come up in search for this topic, but for the past 48 hours almost, my browser has been moving unmercifully slow! Especially with respect to Google Reader. Today I tried a very basic site, PNC.com, and it just sat there, yellow line at the top going seemingly nowhere until I asked to use my wife's iPhone. Not something I wanted to do.

    Has anybody else had this issue? I tried clearing out all the history and resetting the browser to no avail. I really don't want to restore the whole phone... Ideas??

    Thanks
     
  2. Riley

    Riley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed mine doing it as well. I thought maybe it was some app I had interfering with it.
     
  3. mikeatdroidforums

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. I can't even get TO Reader now. Just sits at my home screen now (Google) forever. I can see the bar at the top there at the circle spinning in the address bar, but never goes anywhere....
     
  4. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    you did try a battery pull right?
     
  5. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    obvious question, but you DO have 3G coverage, right? it doesn't say 1x in the notification window? what about wifi? have you tried rebooting?
     
  6. mikeatdroidforums

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup. no effect unfortunately.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Works for me every time.
     
  8. mikeatdroidforums

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got 3G. I have a hard time getting wifi around here, and have tried rebooting...
     
  9. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    how many bars? have you checked your signal strength? (home - menu - settings - about phone - status) if you have a low signal (even if the bars look plentiful), your data connection might not be that great.

    have you tried updating your PRL?
     
  10. mikeatdroidforums

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right now I've got 3 of 4 bars. It's been behaving this way within about a 25 mile radius, my home calling area so the signal strength has fluctuated with no change in the phenomenon. I'm sorry but I don't know what PRL is...

    Thanks for all the input.
     
  11. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    *228, option 2. this will update your Preferred Roaming List. may help your situation.
     
  12. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    I'm going to recommend 2 things

    First launch the browser/hit menu/choose more/choose settings/scroll to privacy settings/clear cache, history and all cookie data.

    Close it out.

    Now from home screen/choose menu/settings/applications/manage applications/menu/filter/all/find and choose browser/clear data/clear cache/force stop

    Close out of everything. You can powercycle if you want (I would just for the heck of it)

    after start-up launch the browser again. This should fix it.
     
Search tags for this page
browser has been frozen
,
droid m froze browser
,

frozen browser

,
frozen browser window android
,
java browser frozen