Browser.apk (modified) no installed???

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by chevycam94, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. chevycam94
    Offline

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    I just fully customized the stock Browser.apk. Got it all nice and pretty, but when I tried to replace the original Browser.apk with my modified one, when I try to open the browser, it keeps telling me that the application is not installed on my system. WTF! :icon_evil:

    This browser (when fully complete), is going to be part of my complete theme for BB on Froyo.

    Any ideas?

    If someone wants, I can upload the file, and see if you can tell me what I did wrong. Is it a signing issue, permissions issue, or a naming issue?
  2. rustynail09
    Offline

    rustynail09 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    first question is where did you put it? it should be put in systems/apps with 644 permissions (rw-r--r--). After both those are set, reboot the phone and try again. Usually modifying the /system/app requires a reboot. Let me know how that works, if that doesn't work, I will take a look at the file and see if I can find anything.
  3. chevycam94
    Offline

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Here you go rusty, see if you can find out what I did wrong. I will try what you said again, maybe I missed something simple. lol
  4. rustynail09
    Offline

    rustynail09 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just let me know if it worked... also remember to remove the original browser before installing the themed version of it.
  5. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try this. remame to update.zip in sprecovery. or in clock work install zip from sd
  6. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also use adb to push apps to the system.

    just put the file in the tools folder in your computer. reboot into recovery. mount the system. then open cmd and get in your tools folder, then run this command

    adb root
    adb remount
    adb push example.apk /system/app

    unmount the system and type

    adb reboot
  7. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of people are using cartoon people for their avatars now o.o first I saw bgill55 do it, then Jrummy, then you...what is that?
  8. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FACE YOUR MANGA | Shake yourself! heres the link.
  9. chevycam94
    Offline

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    I actually changed the permissions to 644, just like you said, and it didnt work. So I deleted it, and the backup copy that I made (moved the backup to my computer), then used root explorer to move the modified one back, and changed permissions again, and it worked perfectly. Not sure why, but I dont think you can have something like: "Browser.apk" (modified version) and "Browser.apk.BACKUP" (original version) both in the /system/app folder at the same time. Name conflict? Still thinks of "Browser.apk.BACKUP" as an APK?
  10. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    well may not be helpful but ms train sim used apk files and that filename.apk.backup often failed too. I used filename.org instead.
  11. chevycam94
    Offline

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Good to know. .backup just seemed pretty straight forward. lol To organize my backups too, so the backup would be right next to the new file, keeps me from having to search for the file I want by name. lol
Search tags for this page
android 4.0 browser apk
,
browser apk
,
browser apk 2.3.4
,

browser.apk

,
browser.apk 2.3.4
,
browser.apk application not installed
,
browser.apk not installed
,
can't install browser.apk
,
froyo stock browser apk
,
native browser android 2.3 apk
,
navegador 2.2 apk
,
navegador 2.3.4 apk
,
navegador original do android 2.2 apk
,
steel browser apk
,
stock android browser 2.3 apk