Broke my phone and need some help asap :)

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by chomorro, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I actually dont think it has anything to do with the rom but i figure you guys would have the most experience with droids not acting correctly :). (meaning rooted droids, not BB droids lol)

    I installed and was running CM6 with Black glass rom and P3 1ghz kernel. Everything was running great.

    Then today i went for a jog while holding my phone because i had no pockets. I get back and my phone is broken, didnt drop it or anything. The keys all light up, the back light on the screen comes on but nothing is on the screen. I know the phone is functioning still because i can still do stuff on it as if it was. Like boot to recovery, and unlock it. But the screen is blank except for the back light occasionally.

    Here is my dilemma, i wanted to see if its possible to wipe and reinstall a rom without having access to the screen. But i dont think it has anything to do with the rom.

    So i was going to go down to Verizon and get a new phone, but i cant flash it back to stock. Think they will even care since they cant see the screen either??

    Need to get this sorted asap, being without my phone is like being without my crack :icon_evil:

    Thanks for the help in advance.
  2. BuglessFan
    Offline

    BuglessFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No expert knowledge, but I would not worry about it. My personal experience after going through a lot of phones on VZW over about 10 years is that they aren't hunting for excuses not to keep you happy and paying. If I were in your same situation, I'd return it as is, but others may have a different view.
  3. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thats what i was thinking, but if it was possible to flash it back to stock without a screen i was going to attempt it.
  4. Black_diamond
    Offline

    Black_diamond New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The first state
    Well if you can get into recovery do a factory reset and try that..

    But on the other hand i heard that VZW was giving out Droid 2's as replacements for the Droid 1 because there wernt any left. SO i would try my luck at VZW store..
  5. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can't see the screen, they can't either ;)
  6. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Just got back from vzw. No droids in stock so im on the phone now for a warranty replacement. The vz rep said some people are getting lucky and getting droid 2 as replacements.

    But honestly i like my droid lol, the bumps on the keyboard are strange on the droid 2. probably just takes getting used to, and no root yet either.

    I actually ran quadrant on the one at vzw along side mine on CM6 with 1ghz. Mine finished the test wayyyyy before the droid 2. I was finished with the graphics test before theirs even started. BUT d2 scored 12** and mine 10**.
  7. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Well i will get my new one by friday. I didnt ask about the droid 2 but i guess we will see.

    In the mean time if anyone knows how to flash back to stock with out a screen let me know lol.
  8. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A friend had the exact same thing happen to his after dropping it. Completely functional, except you couldn't see the screen -- just the backlight. If you hooked it to USB you could use ddms to grab the screen and see what was on it (which was funny), but not on the screen itself. We booted it to bootloader and SBF flashed it back to ESE81 (stock) just to be safe and that did not fix the screen problem (I didn't expect it would -- since the problem happened after a drop) but the flash did succeed and the phone was back to stock.

    Phone wasn't under warranty or insured so he paid a cell repair place to swap the main board. They said it was probably the ribbon cable connector on the main board since the phone worked but just wouldn't display.

    Good luck on getting a "2". If you don't want to have to worry about the warranty police tagging you for voiding your warranty, go ahead and SBF it to ESE81 and it will collect the FRG01B OTA, or just SBF it straight to FRG01B. Of course you won't be able to see anything to know it (and you won't be able to ADB it or ddms it because once you SBF it, USB debugging will be off).

    Hope that rambling was useful in some way.
  9. ZeroBarrier
    Offline

    ZeroBarrier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ahhhhh forgot about the usb screen shot tactic. I will search the forums on how to do this to ese81. Thanks a million :)
  11. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    ok i having problems, I cant see a screenshot of clock work recovery 1.8. Can someone please tell me how many clicks to go down to hit install update.zip. Then how many clicks to go down to click yes!!! That should be all i need to get back to stock

    Oh yea also need to know how many clicks down to get to wipe data and cache, then to accept it.
  12. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me SBF clockwork on real quick and I'll tell you... Stand by.
  13. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think these should do it for you...

    [Edit: I'm headed to bed now. Good luck. Let me know if you get stuck. I've got clockwork on my Dev phone now so I can capture other screens if you need it.]

    Attached Files:

  14. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Yes thats perfect, isnt there a "yes" button like 5 "no"s down to? If i remember correctly
  15. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oops, sorry, forgot that part. From that screen you go down 7 times and then enter.
  16. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    For both its 7 down? So wipe data then down 7 times. Apply sdcard update.zip down 7 times? Sorry to keep you up your a HUGE help.

    lol this is a huge pain, i think i may just leave it and take my chances. Cant get it to work. Thanks for your help Motocache
  17. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    So why is this in the Bugless Beast subforum?
  18. BuglessFan
    Offline

    BuglessFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To break up the monotony of the ZOMG when will BB 0.5 here threads?
  19. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry - actually did go to bed. Yep, it is 7 down for both the wipe and the install.
  20. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good point. Popped a note to the mods asking them to move it.
Search tags for this page

droid 3 broken ribbon cable

,
droid 3 ribbon cable cracked
,
droid 3 ribbon cable fix
,

droid 3 ribbon cable repair

,
droid dna screen replacement san diego
,
glass broke on phone can i take it back to vzw
,
htc dna cell phone glass repair shop in san diego
,
i broke my new phone can i retrun it forums
,
i cant see my screen on my s4 after being dropped what will
,
rooted phone screen broke can i take it to the store
,
screen black on droid after dropping it
,
small dark spots on motorola droid screen after drop