Broke Droid Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Kaptain, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Kaptain

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was following this guide to root and upgrade my droid to 2.1. However, when I got to step 13 to click Reboot Recovery, it got stuck at the /!\. When I tried to load the recovery the normal way it did this as well. Now, I can still boot up my droid normally with everything working fine, I'd just like to know how to fix the recovery mode in case I do ever need to recover it.
     
  2. bots

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You messed something up in step 12. You need to use the droid root helper and reflash he recovery image, and MAKE SURE to do the "rename recovery-from-boot.p" step.

    This step makes the new recovery image last longer than one boot. If you don't do this, you will reboot into custom recovery one time. Every subsequent boot afterwards will boot into the original recovery.

    When you are doing step 13, there shouldn't be a /!\ screen at all. It should boot right into the custom recovery menu.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Kaptain

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried redoing step 12 many times, and I've managed to boot into the normal recovery menu, but I have not been able to get it to newly flashed one.
     
  4. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What instructions are you following? Please give us a link so I can help you
     
  5. bots

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a link in the OP, it's just hard to see since the board's color scheme changed. Click the word "this".
     
  6. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok -- I read those instructions and I really try to avoid the Droid Root Helper application.

    Just a quick summary before I actually start giving advice. Does the OP have abd installed or have a terminal editor on the device? And just for the record - do you have busybox and root installed as well?
     
  7. Kaptain

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have busybox and root installed, however I don't have adb or a terminal editor.
     
  8. p0rk burn

    p0rk burn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Step 1: get a terminal emulator and install adb.
     
  9. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Kaptain

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then what do I do once I have the adb?
     
  11. mrZoSo

    mrZoSo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out the link in my sig for some help with adb.