Broke Droid Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Kaptain, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Kaptain
    Offline

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was following this guide to root and upgrade my droid to 2.1. However, when I got to step 13 to click Reboot Recovery, it got stuck at the /!\. When I tried to load the recovery the normal way it did this as well. Now, I can still boot up my droid normally with everything working fine, I'd just like to know how to fix the recovery mode in case I do ever need to recover it.
  2. bots
    Offline

    bots New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    You messed something up in step 12. You need to use the droid root helper and reflash he recovery image, and MAKE SURE to do the "rename recovery-from-boot.p" step.

    This step makes the new recovery image last longer than one boot. If you don't do this, you will reboot into custom recovery one time. Every subsequent boot afterwards will boot into the original recovery.

    When you are doing step 13, there shouldn't be a /!\ screen at all. It should boot right into the custom recovery menu.

    Hope this helps.
  3. Kaptain
    Offline

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried redoing step 12 many times, and I've managed to boot into the normal recovery menu, but I have not been able to get it to newly flashed one.
  4. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What instructions are you following? Please give us a link so I can help you
  5. bots
    Offline

    bots New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    There's a link in the OP, it's just hard to see since the board's color scheme changed. Click the word "this".
  6. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok -- I read those instructions and I really try to avoid the Droid Root Helper application.

    Just a quick summary before I actually start giving advice. Does the OP have abd installed or have a terminal editor on the device? And just for the record - do you have busybox and root installed as well?
  7. Kaptain
    Offline

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do have busybox and root installed, however I don't have adb or a terminal editor.
  8. p0rk burn
    Offline

    p0rk burn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Step 1: get a terminal emulator and install adb.
  9. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. Kaptain
    Offline

    Kaptain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then what do I do once I have the adb?
  11. mrZoSo
    Offline

    mrZoSo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Check out the link in my sig for some help with adb.